Sajud (Properitor)     18 May 2012

Car with manufactring defect

I have purchased an Indica Car with tourist registration in 2010. Due to manufacturing problem, from the day one onwards the car was  giving me trouble. It was taken to authroised Tata authroised workshops every now and then.I had suffered economical loss of almost 1 lacs due to repair and replacment arrangment of the tourist car in the contract
within one year.Lot of correspondance with Tata Motors yeield no positive response for a permanet solution. Lastly when I send the car at Tata Motor authorised workshop for running repair, they had kept the car 4 days and later inform me to shell out money again for replacement of some parts which I have done it 15 days back from the same service centre.I had disapproved and left the car by intimating Tata Motors to take back

the same on May'11 . I had no other choice but to left the car as it is.

I have all the e-mail communication with me.Kindly suggest shall I approach consumer court against Tata motors and the Service centre for their irresponsible behaviour, my economical loss etc...

Saju

adv. rajeev ( rajoo ) (practicing advocate)     18 May 2012

Issue notice to the co., to replace the car and pay the loss. Co., wont respond you, after that you file a consumer case, but you have to show that car was purchased to earn for daily livelihood

vipin rathee (partner)     18 May 2012

Consumer court will help you in seeking redressal.........

Advocate Bhartesh goyal (advocate)     24 May 2012

If the car was purchased for commercial purpose then compalint under the provisions of Consumer Protection Act is not maintainable.For maintainability of complaint you have to prove that the car was purchased to earn livelihood.