Amee (Engineer)     18 February 2012

Cooperative housing society - i need details of complaint.

I’m residing in cooperative housing society in Maharashtra. Somebody from my society has made complaint against me for the water connection I have taken in my gallery  (from terrace). I was informed about same verbally and when I contacted society chairman about same he asked me to take that connection immediately and if I unable to do so society will do it forcefully. (As the cost of my expenses).

When I asked about details of complaint  / name of complainant then in return I was denied that information and  was scolded  too.

So I have following doubts,

1.       Am I  eligible to get such information about complaint?

2.       Is chairman of society has such authority to scold any member of society ?

3.       What action should be taken in such case?

Your guidance will be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Dr. MPS RAMANI Ph.D.[Tech.] (Scientist/Engineer)     19 February 2012

You cannot take extra connection to your flat especially to a place other than kitchen, bathroom or  toilet. The Society can remove unauthorized water connections even without informing the concerned member. Who informed you verbally about the complaint? The complainant may be the person himself who informed you  and he may be alleging that somebody else did it,  in order to escape your wrath. As the Society can suo moto do it, it is not necessary to tell you that someone complained.

Taking an extra connection is not something that cannot be proven. Its very existence is itself the evidence. When something does not require investigation and evidence it is not necessary for the concerned authority, in this case your Society,  to tell you how they came to know. If you come to know who was the complainant, in what way that is going to help you? In the case of a false complaint you may like to take action against the complainant, not otherwise.

Amee (Engineer)     20 February 2012

Thanks for replying.

I do not want to go against system, actually the connection has been taken by me 3 yrs ago when I purchased flat and the my connection has been taken from same connection where it has been taken by some other flat owner just a difference is other flat owner has taken it from builder 12 yrs ago.I just extended same connection. ( Even that owner is ok to provide me NOC). Actually I just want to legalise it.

Society is not ready for legalizing , they arre asking me to get pipeline done inside flat.

Any suggestion ? how to approach ?

Dr. MPS RAMANI Ph.D.[Tech.] (Scientist/Engineer)     22 February 2012

Neither you nor the other flat owner can take a second connection. If the other flat owner was given connection by the builder, the Society should have cut it when it was formed.

You ask the Secretary to give his objection in writing. Or ask him why the other flat owner is having connection. If he tries to justify ask him under which section of which law. You can also ask him to show the law for cutting your connection.

You can also write to the Registrar. Give your complaint in Form P. The form may be available from Co-operative Federation Office near Horniman Circle. You can also complain to the Municipal Co-operation. But they are corrupt. They will take money and keep quiet. If they do nothing after you complain you can ask them what action they took under RTI.

Amee (Engineer)     05 March 2012

Thanks Sir. Your advice will definately help. Sorry for delayed reply.

Jamila Shrivastav (Councellor)     29 September 2012

My name is Jamila. If i want to complaint about my society what is the procedure. I am having problem of ceiling leakage issue & water supply issue as it was discuss in Latest AGM to build a new water storage facility. Not yet any step taken. so please guide me for this. 2 letter are given about ceiling leakage issue not got any reply & above all the secretary of the society doesn't have any mannerism to talk & to behave specially with the ladies.

Dr. MPS RAMANI Ph.D.[Tech.] (Scientist/Engineer)     30 September 2012

It would have been better if you had given this as a new post rather than give under an old existing post.

Ceiling leakage issue:

How many floors has your building. On which floor are you residing?  Is it the top floor?  Where is the leakage? Is it over the bath-room, toilet or kitchen? If so, is it from the upper floor? The procedure for your complaint would depend on your answer to your question. In any case first write to the Secretary of the Society and obtain an acknowledgement. If you do not get a reasonable response within reasonable time, you write to the Registrar of the Ward in which your Society is situated. Normally the Registrar will forward copy of your letter to the Secretary and seek his reply. The Secretary is required to reply and the Registrar will forward his reply to you. If ,with that if your problem is solved, congratulate yourself. Otherwise you will have to doggedly follow it with letters and by meeting the Registrar.

Storage Tank::

You say the matter was discussed at the AGM. Was it discussed as an agenda item or under "any other matter". If it was under the latter, you cannot expect much. The right procedure would be that the Managing Committee should invite quotations for the project and make an estimate of the expenditure. If the amount is more than Rs.25000/- they should call an EGM ir wait for the AGM, place before them the estimate and also confirm to the General Body that funds are available. If sufficient funds are not available the General Body will have to approve collection of additional funds from members. The General Body should pass  resolutions approving expenditure on the project,, and for collection of additional from members duly proposed and seconded.

I can advise you further only after getting more details. I have posted this advice assuming that your Society is in Maharashtra.