LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

ANKIT MALVIYA (xyz)     24 January 2017

Banker's dillema

I am a manager of Public Sector Bank. I approved loan to customer under a govt sponsored schme. Borrower has to deposit 5% margin of loan amount . Borrower submited quotation from a machine manufacturer in Gujarat. Initially 25 % of amount was to be paid to get the machine ready.   DD of 25 % in name of manufacturer disbursed by bank. Machine got ready by the manufacturer. The borrower could not arrange the 5 % margn amount and swith off his phone. Banker and manufacturer both tried to contact him for 6 months. Manufacturer sold the machine. Now borrower came after 6 months , asking for rest amount of Loan after dpositing the Margin amount. Banker contacts Manufacturer, manufacturer aggried to supply the machine.  After taking DD of rest amount now manufacturer not supplying the machine.  If the manufacturere do not supply the machine and unit is not started I will loose my job. What should I do?

Learning

5 Replies

What is my fault in it.

Seniors screw juniors. Everyone is going to blame me . I can not sleep in nights. Thoughts of all kinds come to mind.

G.L.N. Prasad (Retired employee.)     25 January 2017

If you have collected the margin money and sent Account payee demand draft to the manufacturer and sent the same by Regd post.  Your duty ends there.

If only they can establish malafide intentions of hand in glove with manufacturer /supplier then only they can fix responsibility.

Your immediate duty is to report the matter to your higher authorities without any delay.  Every PSU may be having branches all over India.  Explain the happening to one of your colleague at manufacturer's place and ask him to trace the manufacturer.