Swathy Venkittaraman (Advocate)     22 June 2013

Calculation of gratuity for an ex-employee

I am posting this as i was asked a query on calculation of gratuity that has to be paid for an ex-employee having served the prganization for 6 years. The organization used to calculate earlier used to take only the basic % of the gross which was 50% however the consultant adviced that it should be basic + da and the hra can be excluded- That is basic 50% + conveyance 10% + Medical 10% that is =70%. Can anyone brief me on this? What is the exact way of calculating the gratuity? is it 50% or 70% that we have to consider? Please guide me.

Thanks & regards,

Swathy

Kumar Doab (FIN)     23 June 2013

Basic+DA ( Last drawn)

Payment of Gratuity Act, 1972

Section: 2
Definitions.

(s) "wages" means all emoluments which are earned by an employee while on duty or on leave in accordance with the terms and conditions of his employment and which arc paid or arc payable to him in cash and includes dearness allowance but does not include any bonus, commission, house rent allowance, overtime wages and any other allowance.

Section: 4
Payment of gratuity.

(2)

Explanation: In the case of a monthly rated employee, the fifteen days wages shall be calculated by dividing the monthly rate of wages last drawn by him by twenty-six and multiplying the quotient by fifteen.

Attached File : 812247304 paymentofgratuityact(1).doc downloaded: 147 times

dr g balakrishnan (advocate/counsel supreme court)     23 June 2013

In fact need to note every salaray or wage is a consolidated payments chargedon the employee, whatever way you may choose to call. So every allowance need to be included if the allowances are not paid regularly. Even fluctuating allowances as per economic movements  need to be taken into account. Else if your basic + dearness allowance is just Rs.100, all other allowances you made to save your tax composition  for the company cannot be excluded, after all gratuiity is propety under Art 300A.so you are paying as per social norms existed in the society and that position is given some statutory form by legislature but legislature cannot take away societal norms of payments. so you can never reduce the total compensation under any law, per constitutional law. So legislatures cannot really interfere but in the cloack of some statutory provisions, if you resort to some irrational deductions, yu will be answerable to constitutional courts. there is judgement by Apex ct delivered by justice krishnaier of SC in 1971 can be seen on Gratuity, PF, Pension payments as property right of the concerned individal fundamental right .EVen dirctory principle of state policy is also treated as a kind of fundamental right, so Supreme court made art 37 cannot allow ay more directory principles in Part IV of constitution is amenable to court's juroisdiction madam. regds. 

Kumar Doab (FIN)     23 June 2013

Dr. G. Balakrishnan,

Kindly provide the judgement delivered by justice krishnaier.

Kumar

Sudhir Kumar, Advocate (Advocate)     25 June 2013

well elaborated b y Mr Doab