indianlawlearner   14 August 2023

Can a plaint be altered after presentation and bfire numbering of the suit

1) Can a plaint be altered after presentation( submission at filing section) and before numbering of the suit? Kindly guide me with sections of law objecting to alteration of plaint before the Civil suit is numbered at Madras High Court 

2) Can a plaint have 2 prayers in the same line, like declaration of title and recovery of possession? Kindly quote relevant sections of law, rules if possible 

Real Soul.... (LEGAL)     14 August 2023

1. You have to chck with registry if they have completed the process of submission but still not listed for hearing  then you can file application before Registrar High Court for return of petition . He will file that for hearing

2. Yes there is no problem in seeking more than one reliefe in one prayer in one line, just the prayer you seeek from the court should be mentioned in the petition.

T. Kalaiselvan, Advocate (Advocate)     14 August 2023

If the case has not been taken on its file you can give a request in writing to return the papers to enable you to abandon the same and file a fresh one with proper details and better pleadings relevant to the case.

You can ask for multiple reliefs as prayers in the same suit but the supporting pleadings are to be present in the plaint