Originally posted by : Dr Rajendra K Gupta |
|
What ever discussion is going above I don't like it as a social activist. We cant give advise for any illegal acts or exploitation. We will keep neutral to both tenants and landlords. Both interest have to be balance if we have to keep houses supply good in market. You are tenant so why you are trying to buy it . Has Landlord indicated any thing like that? Then you may negotiate.
Tenancy is always subject to conditions on tenant in your West Bengal rent control act. read it.
If you don't live or use it you don't need it and you have to vacate.
If you are using for purpose given by landlord you need not bother so long as you pay in time and are paying fair rent.
Is there any written lease or rent agreement . what are terms,? or is it just a normal rented property?
If you are under a written stamped agreement for a fixed time period you must honor it.
Most problem rise because of low rents. So negotiate a revised rent as per market rates less 20%.
If that does notwork you can deposit rent with rent controller.
Has landlord given any receipt in recent past to you?
Send cheque by registered post.
|
|
Rajendra Ji,
My Landlord has not paid the buildng taxes for over a 8 years now. He is not in a good financial position. So I offered that if he wishes to sell me the flat I was ready to buy.
I am not yet ready to sell that flat as my job is not fixed. Tomorrow after 4 months I am kicked out of the job I will have to come back to my hometowm. Even if I am ready to sell the flat I will not sell it at the peanuts he is offering me. He is paying me 5-6 lakhs less than current market vaue. I am not currently able to come there to decide on selling the flat because of my wife pregnency problem. So he sould noto take undue advantage of the same.
Coming to the point of increasing the rent. There is no such clause mentioned in the contract. Then also we are okay to incease but he never spoke on the same. He is interested to get the lumpsum amount he will receive when we transfer the owenrship to other person. The written agreeemnt only states the amount of rent payable and the PAGDI amount paid. There is no definate period of property given on rent.
I have sent my mother all way to Kolkata to speak to him and settle the matter, but he just says either sell or come and stay in the flat. Else I will not accept the rent. This is an unjust behaviour. I have also shown him the doctor certificate where my wife is advised not to travel.