Hello everyone,
I need help and need it urgently.
I've been married for past 5 years. Wife is an epileptic and I knew about her disease before marriage and still agreed to marry her. However, I regretted this decision soon after. Her behaviour and attitude post marriage has caused me lots of mental trauma. She is extremely rude to my family members and constantly mocks them for being poor farmers from backward caste (she is a bramhin and I am a kayasth). She forms good friendship with my colleagues' wives and then tell them false stories about how me and family harass her. She does the same in her school (where she teaches K.G. kids) and with our neighbours as well. Whenever there is a fight, she calls friends and neighbours and creates a big tamasha. She even calls my manager and speaks ill about me. Not just this, she often gets violent and thrashes my head or scratches my face with her nails.
I purchased a flat worth 50 lac rupees last year. Her father gave 5 lac to me for the purchase and asked me to put my wife's name in the sale deed as well. I did so. After this, my wife began taunting me that I was able to purchase a flat because of her father. And because my parents did not conribute anything, she didn't allow my parents to visit me since I bought the flat. Last year, we had a fight over this issue so she created a big scene and left the house, but came back the very next day. She assured me that she will not quarrel anymore. But her assurancce was short-lived. She quarreled again and again till I got fed up and took her to our village where a meeting was arranged between her parents and mine. It was mutually agreed on the 11th of January 2016, that she will live with her parents for three months. When I returned back, to my utter surprise, I saw that she had already come back. I told her that I cannot live with her and I'll find a spperate room for myself. She created a hue and cry and has been threatening me with suicide since then. I am very scared as she constantly shows me a rope and says that if you leave me, I'll hang myself in this house.
I am very scared. I do not want to live with her.But at the same time, I am worried whether she would do something to herself. On what grounds can I file for divorce and how soon can I get away from her?
Please advice asap.
A scared husband