Hi Dear Advocate Friends,
Brief history about the case is as below.
1) Me and my wife were living in Mumbai and my father & brother live in
2) Wife left home with my daughter after some quarrel and filed 498a, Dowry prohibition, 323 etc. cases in Jan-2010. Brother got arrested in Feb-2010 without any intimation and we got regular bail for all three of us in couple of days.
3) Immediately wife filed CRPC 125 (cross examination of wife from my lawyer is due this month).
4) Now, In-laws are demanding 2.5 lacs to be deposited on Wife’s name for settlement.
5) However wife/in-laws are not ready to give statement that these cases were false and we haven’t done any wrong to her
6) But instead they are ready to write that we have done the settlement and would now live happily!!
7) If they make statement in CRPC 125 court as per point-6, then based on that can 498a be quashed / dismissed or she must write as per point-5 in order to quash/dismiss the cases.
Based on above, I need to know that which from the below option is better if a compromise formula has been worked out for 498a, Dowry Prohibition etc. cases.
I belong to Ahmedabad.
1) Quash petition in high court – My lawyer told me that high-court fees are too expensive. Moreover high court lawyers would also charge much for quash petition.
2) Wait for 498a case to come on board of Metro magistrate court (ghee – kata court, Ahmedabad) which may take some time (not sure how much exactly) as charge-sheet has been filed in end of March-2010 and we have not received any summons yet. And once the case comes, then put a join petition for dismissal (Is it valid?)?
3) We are still negotiating on amount for settlement, but should it be paid while withdrawing 125 crpc or we should divide the amount such that part would be deposited on CRPC 125 withdrawal and part would be on 498a quash/dismissal.
4) What is your expert opinion on withdrawal of these cases? I mean what is the correct way to go about this?
Experts,
Kindly en-light me with your answers.