Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Seema Agarwal (Self)     25 February 2013

Divorce and property issue

Hi

I got married in 1999 in Noida. Four years into the marriage, my husband and I bought a house in Ghaziabad. He paid the initial amount, and we look a loan for the balance. The loan is in my name and i have been paying the EMI for the past 10 years.

Due to differences, my husband moved to his native place, and i have been living in this house with my parents.

In 2009 we decided to split. In the past 4 years, my husband keeps changing his mind about the divorce. Sometimes he agrees sometimes he doesnt want a divorce. Whenever the matter comes up, he asks me to move out of the house. According to him, the house is his and i have no right to live in it.

I would also like to mention that in the 10 years of marriage, my husband did not provide any financial support to me or my family. All expenses have been made by my parents and I.

For past 4 years he has been living in another city, where he has bought a house for himself, and has not paid even a penny to me.

To add more, he has been abusive during the last 4 years, for which i had gone to the police, but didnt file a complaint since i didnt want him to create further trouble.

I have substaintial proof of the abusiveness in form of smses sent by him. He has also threatened to kill my father (who lives with me).

I want to know what are my rights with regards to the house, how best can i divorce him,,and whom should i go to who can help me get a divorce.

Learning

9 Replies

(Guest)

Going for a rented apartment would have been a wise decision.

Was there an agreement between you and your husband that he pay intial money, later on you pay of home loan in installments?

Something should have been in writing.

You can get your payment details and produce it in court.