tanmay (project manager)     05 April 2012

Guidance for mutual divorce

dear all, me and my wife have so amny issues , so we decided to live apart. now she is ready for mutual divorce. i am giving her 14 lacs lumpsum, 7 lacs on filing petition and 7 lacs on decree of divorce. we both are from different states. it has been decided the divorce petition would be prepared by me and she will come to court to sign the petition. any one idea that all this process will complete in 1 day?? filing the divorce and statement recording in front of magistrate??? court is ghaziabad

Adv.R.P.Chugh (Advocate/Legal Consultant (rpchughadvocatesupremecourt@hotmail.com))     05 April 2012

Dear Querist,

Don't pay such a big amount on the first motion - pay as less as you can, for instances are not rare where women don't turn up for second motion and usurp the money, and then file 498A/406/Maintenance Cases to extort further.

As regards the time - the case normally comes up for first hearing on the next to - when you file it in court, the court normally records the statement that day itself, and then you approach the court with second motions after 6 months. 

tanmay (project manager)     05 April 2012

thanks sir. will she also engage her private lawyer to file mutual divorce petition?

**Victim** (job)     05 April 2012

Why make money settlement in matrimonial issues ? Our society is getting spoiled by such offers please don't do this. 14 Lakhs is a big amount i bet you even if she is awarded maintenance it won't total upto 14 lakhs because one day she will remarry and then maintenance will be automatically voided. Don't make any money settlment for such issues.

Shonee Kapoor (Legal Evangelist - TRIPAKSHA)     05 April 2012

It is better that you yourself engage two lawyers.

Also the process can not complete in one day. It requires two days atleast. One day filing, next day statement.

tanmay (project manager)     18 April 2012

shonee sir, whats about lawyer's fees?? who will pay?

Shonee Kapoor (Legal Evangelist - TRIPAKSHA)     18 April 2012

in MCD what do you expect to be lawyers fee?

You are paying 14 Lacs, how does 5-7K more matter?

tanmay (project manager)     19 April 2012

lawyer demands 25K, wife said she doesnt trust me, she will appear with her own lawyer