Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Jeet   19 May 2016

House deed

Hello Everybody,

I am a software professional living in USA for last 16 years. Around 14 years back I purchased a old house in Kolkata and got it renovated. My father registered the house under four  persons 1) His name 2) My mother 3) My brother and finally 4) in my name. My brother lives in the same house with them. I never objected to his decision of having my brother's name as I was very close to him and I thought he will take care of them in their old age. Since marraige of my brother, things have changed and his wife and his son are ill treating my parents and threaten them all the time. My brother's family is also ill treating my married sister whenever she visits my parents. It seems to me that my brother along with his wife and his 17 yr son have ill intention towards the house and I am worried about the house. Few days back , my brother threatened my parents and told them that noone can displace him from the house. My question is 1) Is it possible to get the name transaferred to my name. My parents don't have any issues and they also want me to do so, Please advise best course of action for me, The house deed related papers are with my father.

Thanks a lot

J Walia

USA

Learning

8 Replies

saravanan s (legal advisor)     19 May 2016

You can't evict your brother as he also holds share in the house.your parents can gift their share on your name so you and your brother alone will be co owners of the house.now your brother have the option of selling his share to you or vice versa.if he says he doesn't agree then you can file a partition suit to claim your share

P. Venu (Advocate)     19 May 2016