M H MOHAN (clerk)     20 July 2013

Ipc 279/338& mv act 3/181

I had given my scooter for repair/service to a local mechanic. The accident caused by the mechanic had resulted a grevious injuries to a motorcylist.

The mechanic had accepted his crime before the police & arrested and is on bail. Both the mechanic & the motorcylist MLCs had been done.

The problem is the mechanic had no driving l/c, and was driving the vehcile on wrong side due to which the accident had occured

In this scenario, i had been issued notice to appear before the court. Kindly advice what is the maximum punishment a court can order against me for the crime which i had not committed. The only fact is the scooter from which the accident occured is registered in my name.

mohan in delhi

Ashok, Advocate (Lawyer at Delhi)     20 July 2013

Section 180 of the Motor Vehicles Act, 1988, is reproduced below for your information:

180. Allowing unauthorised persons to drive vehicles.—Whoever, being the owner or person in charge of a motor vehicle, causes, or permits, any other person who does not satisfy the provisions of Section 3 or Section 4 to drive the vehicle shall be punishable with imprisonment for a term which may extend to three months, or with fine which may extend to one thousand rupees, or with both.”

Thus, allowing a person to drive your vehicle, when he does not have a driving licence, may entail a punishment of imprisonment up to three months, or with fine up to one thousand rupees, or with both.

M H MOHAN (clerk)     20 July 2013

as  normal invdividual i had given my vehicle for servicing to the mechanic.

and the mechanic had driven the vehicle, later on i came to know that he does not hold the driving l/c ,

what claim can the complianant can file against me, as i had not done anything wrong, i been involved becuase the vehicle belongs to me.

mohan

M H MOHAN (clerk)     24 July 2013

kindly guide me..... with this case........ i had given my vehcile for servicing to the mechanic..... and not for a jay driving spell......... but without my knowledge he had driven my vehcile and caused the accident.. i came to know about the accident from the police after 3rd day from the exact date of accident

mohan in delhi