Sanjay Kalra 17 March 2008
Prakash Yedhula (Lawyer) 17 March 2008
Ravi Shah (Student) 04 October 2008
Can you pls guide me that what will be the treatment of the assets and liabilities apearing in the Balance Sheet. (i.e.Jewellery etc.)
Or what is the procedure to transfer the ownership of these assets in the name of the wife of the deceased.
Please guide me on this. or mail me at below given email ID.
Thanx in advance...........
Ravi Shah
E-mail ID : shahravi14@rediffmail.com
Shree. ( Advocate.) 04 October 2008
Dear Sanjay,
prof s c pratihar (medical practitioner &legal studies) 07 October 2008
in short the legal representative is inclusive in character andits scope is wide ,and does not confine to legal heirs only,instead it stipulates a person who may or may not be heir,competent to inherit the property of the deceased but he should represent the estate of the deceased person (chuni singh vs chanda 1992 (1) pat LJR 351 at 354)
ca.bhupendrashah (FCADISA) 07 October 2008
true
Ganesh Chowdhury (Finance professional) 30 January 2012
Dear Prakash sir,
I just want to confirm from you that when there is not dispute between legal heirs/legal representatives, is it required to give succession certificate to get the IT refund of the deceased.
I have submitted an affidavit and indemnity bond as required by the ITO to get the IT refund which is in the name of my father. Now he is asking for the succession certificate. But going by the provisions given above i.e ' 'legal representative' means a person who in law represents the estate of a deceased person, and includes any per son who intermeddles with the estate of the deceased'........it doesnt seem that we require any succession certificate to proceed in the case. Please advice.
SM