Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

jeet   28 August 2024

Legal opinion on denial of obc certificate for my children.

Respected All,

I hope this letter finds you well. I am writing to seek your legal opinion and advice regarding an issue I am currently facing concerning the issuance of OBC (Other Backward Class) caste certificates for my children.

I,Mr Patel, belong to the Kunbi caste, which is recognized as an OBC under the Government Resolution No. CBC/1467/M dated 13/10/1967. I am a Gujarati by origin, and my family and I have been residing in Maharashtra since before 1967. Proof of our residence in Maharashtra prior to 1967 was provided and accepted during the issuance of my OBC caste certificate in 2011 by the Deputy Collector of Nashik, Maharashtra.

Recently, I applied for OBC caste certificates for my children, citing my own certificate as evidence. However, to my surprise, the concerned authorities have denied the issuance of these certificates to my children.

Given that I have a valid OBC certificate issued by the Deputy Collector and that the Kunbi caste is recognized as an OBC in Maharashtra, I am struggling to understand the basis on which my children's applications have been rejected.

In light of this situation, I would greatly appreciate your expert legal opinion on the following points:

1. Validity and Applicability: Is my OBC caste certificate, issued by the Deputy Collector in 2011, still valid for the purpose of obtaining similar certificates for my children?

2. Legal Recourse: What legal options are available to me to challenge this denial, and what would be the best course of action to ensure that my children receive their rightful OBC certificates?

3. Documentation and Evidence: Are there any additional documents or evidence that I should submit to strengthen my case, and what should I be mindful of during this process?