LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

(Guest)

Logic behind filing multiple maintenance suits ?

1. I request ld. friends here to guide a common man like me facing multiple maintenance to understand what is its logic based on below anti-thesis I interpret / discovered may be I may be wrong but afterall I am still learning and no harm understanding maintenance Laws from ld. friends here.

So here is my observations onlogics behind multiple maint cases unfortunately filed by ...............:-

HMA - Hindu Marriage Act
HAMA - Hindu Adoptions and Maintenance act

HMA was passed in 1955.

HAMA was passed in 1956.

Before HMA and HAMA, the way to get maintenance was to file for maintenance in civil court and fight the case based on unmodified personal laws and customary laws and through established case laws / judgments of courts etc.

The way to get interim maintenance was to file under Section 488 CrPC. Section 488 CrPC was a summary trial. It had a limit - probably Rs 100 to start with in the initial days.

So there was a civil part of maintenance litigation and a criminal part under Section 488 CrPC. the criminal part was only for interim maintenance.

For the above reason, one can see multiple judgments which say - decision of "civil court will prevail over criminal court for maintenance".

The reason for this is that criminal Section 488 was only interim. Civil maintenance was final. Hence such statements in multiple orders (I can collect some of these to refer in the Hon'ble Court if anyone here is interested in its core studies).

Then in 1955, HMA came into being. It had a special Section 24 for interim maintenance and a special section for permanent maintenance - S. 25 HMA. It is clear from judgment Jawaharlal Dhawan that it is clear and unambiguous that once any petition is filed from Section 9 to Section 14 of HMA, interim maintenance will have to be under Section 24.