g singh (lecturer)     29 March 2012

Maintenance

Dear forum kindly guide me in the following case-

"The respondent has been directed by the court to pay Rs. 9000 per month before 10th of every month to my divorced sister. Respondent is not paying money according to the direction. Respondent is govt employee. Last time he deposited maintenance money in the court that too very late. Few days ago a letter from Head of the Govt Department (in which  respondent is employed) was sent to my sister informing that the department is not able to ensure compliace of court order (court ordered department to make sure that money is payed by the respondent in time) as court in its judgement has not mentioned the account no. of the petitioner. My sister has to go to court which is 70 km away from her present residence as a result my sister has to expend rs. 500 (fare etc) every time she goes to court to take money. Is it possible that respondent sends money directly to my sister,s bank account. Although respondent knows my sister,s bank ac. still he doesnot send money in time."

In fact court has not mentioned my sister,s bank ac. no. in its decision.  

**Victim** (job)     29 March 2012

@ Author,

What makes you think that respondent is happy to pay maintenance/alimony to your sister he is doing this on purpose. Getting money in your sister's A/C is your sister's convenience and respondent's inconvenience i doubt court will lean towards such kind of things.

IS YOUR SISTER EMPLOYED?

g singh (lecturer)     30 March 2012

No,   my sister is not employed.