Hi Rajan:
Thank you for the reply.
About Child Custody: My husband has never been father figure to my son yet. He has not even bought a diaper for my son. Right from my pregnancy till date, I'm the one bearing all the expenses and care for my son. I had to repeatedly ask him to to even take my son for his vaccinations and hospital visits. Even then he has accompanied us unwillingly. He never used to spend time with us. Only after I had pointed it oit to him, he started spending some time with my son, not with me yet. Even then the time he spends is like it's a formality. He is not doing it genuinely. My family members including my sisters' husbands, have witnessed it. Also, he has extremely poor hygiene and live in very unhealthy and messy ways. He only thinks of making money in all possible crooked ways. What values is my son going to learn from him? So, I do not understand as to how the court can see that it's in the best interest of my son to be with his father.
About Mutual Consent Divorce: I too want that we go for a mutual consent divorce but he's not going to agree - "I'm the hen that lays golden eggs." - so, why would he? When I told him I want a divorce he told me that he's not going to sign the papers and asked me to proceed the way I want to! He's adamant on it! Off lately, he asked my father to get out of the house and treated him with bitter disrespect. My father has looked after him as his own son. He used to even get bed tea, make his lunch box, etc. for my husband. Also, my father had paid 15 lacs to buy this apartment after selling his house. Rest all, is my hard-earned money.
About Property: When I can prove that I've pitched in all the money, how can he have any share in the property. All that he has contributed so far for the past two years in terms of the property is the partial EMI.
About Alimony: I understand that I would need to settle his EMI contributions. Can't this be adjusted with the Alimony amount? I mean whatever he agress to pay, I could deduct his EMI contribution from it and accept the remaining alimony amount.
I am sure I'll have to fight this a hard and nasty way because I don't have a choice unless he agrees for Mutual Consent Divorce. I'm just trying to ensure that I don't do anything that might weaken my case.
So, please guide me again.
Kavita