Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Gladys Narula (Manager)     30 September 2011

Unfair charges by society

Hi! 

I'm a resident of Chandivali in Powai presently where I stay on lease in a 3 BHK at Raheja Vihar. I own a 2 BHK in Powai since 2005 (Cinderella Co-op Hsg Society). The reason for not staying in my own flat are primarily as follows-

1.) Intially, it was just my husband and myself who stayed there; however, now we have 2 children & even our parents live with us. So in all we're 6.
2.) My son who is 3 years now, would keep running outside the building which is along a road experiencing moderate to heavy traffic. There have been umpteen occasions when he's been saved from an accident.

Hence, we eventually decided to move to a bigger place. Since we did not find a 3 BHK to our liking, we presently decided to move on lease & take time out to find & buy one during the lease period. This happened in Jan 2011. Parallely, we leased out my apartment so that we could meet increasedcosts.
Now, in June 2011, the society suddenly increased our Non Occupancy charges. Where I was billed Rs.100/- earlier, the bill carried a charge of Rs.800/-. I thought it was a mistake and checked with the secretary who confirmed that this step was taken by the committee members. On asking for the reason, I was informed that since we don't reside there & we're making money by leasing out the apartment, we need to contribute some additional charges to the society. Quite some society members opposed this because as per bye-laws NOC cannot be charged beyond 10% of service charges.