Cookie Chawla (Partner)     13 January 2013

What goes around comes around

What goes around, comes around.

Below is a depiction of a very common scene in most Indian movies. A young and beautiful women (lets say ablaa) is marrying a man who hails from a rich background. The wedding ceremony is going on, and suddenly the grooms family demands money from the bride's father. The groom's family demand money immediately, else they threaten to walk out of the wedding ceremony. The grooms family is seen humiliating ablaa's father (lets call him Mr. Bechara).  Bechara is shown begging to groom's family, not to break the wedding. Bechara is crying, but he is taunted by the groom's family. Bechara cannot bear the greedy behaviour of the groom's family. Bechara falls on the feet’s of the groom's family, but to no avail. Bechara sometimes manages to give money somehow. Say by selling his house at a throwaway price, etc. Most of the times, grooms family is saying, that Bechara hasn't given all the money that he had promised to give. In movies, what they show next is that the groom's family leaves the wedding. Bechara and ablaa are left weeping. Then some young man from the crowd comes, and says, he is ready to wed ablaa. In some scene's Ablaa stops her father, and says, she doesn't wants to marry such a greedy groom, and gives a lecture on morality to the groom's family. The audience gives a loud applause to the courage shown by the bride - ablaa. Films like Lajja,  have depicted such scenes.

By showing such drama in movies, the Indian masses have been brainwashed into believing that young brides are a harassed species, and such brides need to raise their voice. Around 10 years back, news was flasshed on all major news channel. It said, similar story had happened, but the courageous bride called police, and got the groom's family arrested for demanding additional dowry on the wedding day.  The bride, Nisha Sharma, instantly became a national hero. She gained the status of a youth icon. Majority of Indians who were seething in anger over alleged rising dowry cases, were happy. Nisha was invited to Oprah Winfrey Show. Nisha was hailed as the new face of Indian woman. She was (and still is) depicted as a symbol of women's empowerment. For days, news channels kept focusing on her courageous story. People were calling all sorts of names to the groom and his family (Similar to the
Delhi Rape incidence).

https://articles.timesofindia.indiatimes.com/2004-01-09/delhi/28335061_1_nisha-sharma-ashwini-sharma-chicago

https://indiatoday.intoday.in/story/dowry-victim-nisha-sharma-in-oprah-winfrey-show/1/196865.html

https://atimes.com/atimes/South_Asia/FA15Df02.html

"In Nisha's case, events unfolded as dramatically as in any Bollywood potboiler. ...... She was to drive off in a new black Maruti Esteem that cost US$10,000, bought by her father for the use of her husband's family, the rights duly transferred in their name.  But, they wanted more. The baraat (marriage procession), with the groom's mother as master of ceremonies, asked for cash ($30,000) to be hand-delivered at the reception area itself, before her son, who followed on a traditionally bedecked horse, would condescend to alight. The father of the bride demurred, and was therefore pushed, abused and finally slapped by the groom's mother.  When Nisha, in her traditional finery and mehendi (temporary henna tattoos) heard the commotion, she reached for her cell phone and called the police. The rest is history. "

So far so good for the feminists and male-haters (misandrist).  The police arrested the groom and his family. The groom and his family were publicly humiliated. Taunted of being greedy. Nisha's story made it into UP’s school textbooks. The husband (Mr. Munish Dalal) was depicted as a villain. School children were (and still being) taught how Nisha was harassed by a greedy person called Munish Dalal.

https://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/south_asia/3696562.stm

However, now comes the twist. In 2012 after almost nine years, the court pronounced its verdict on the trial. The court acquitted Munish Dalal, and his family. In fact, the court made the below observation in its Judgment,

"The court ruled that Nisha was close to Navneet Rai and had wished to marry him instead of Munish. Nisha’s family had also approached Navneet for the marriage but when the proposal did not work, her marriage was fixed with Munish. Nisha who was not happy with her marriage then leveled false allegations of dowry demand. 

https://www.indianexpress.com/news/nisha-sharma-dowry-case-court-acquits-all-accused/918505

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/indiahome/indianews/article-2108929/Mans-year-dowry-nightmare-jail-finally-ends.html

This was not a surprise to many especially to Men's Rights Activists (MRA's) since more then 89% of dowry cases are false. And Indian media never punish young wives, who openly make false charges against anyone in public, police station and courts. Hence the court even though it acknowledged that the charges were false didn't took any action against the Empowered Women.

Now in 2013; reality bites
. Nisha Sharma herself is a dowry accused. Her brother's in-laws have filed a case of dowry against Nisha and her brother, Dnyaneshwar Sharma. Manisha, wife of Nisha's brother has alleged that she was harassed for dowry. The marriage happened three years ago, and the couple has a kid, They had been forcing Manisha, to give divorce, or bring money. Manisha has alleged that her in-laws have been beating her for not bringing Rupees 12 lacs. A case has been registered against Dnyaneshwar Sharma, D.D. Sharma (Nisha's father), Hemlata Sharma (Nisha's mother) and on media darling Nisha Sharma. Following IPC sections have been put, S. 498A, 504, and 406. Nisha's brother has been arrested by Police on
8th January 2013. Nisha Sharma is absconding. Those who know her whereabouts please inform police.

https://navbharattimes.indiatimes.com/dowry-case-against-nisha sharma / articleshow / 17958708 .cms

As is usual in
India, Nisha Sharma and her brother today in 2013 would cry foul, and claim that the present dowry case against them is false, but their own allegations were genuine. Only when it happens to them, people start shouting, that law is being misused. Else these hypocrites are the ones who keep on shouting for women’s empowerment. The media will not report this news and Oprah Winfrey, BBC and Reuters will have last laugh on their then TRP they already capitalized long long back ago and you and me will attempt giving it a air and will be lost memory history.

Now it is time to have my last laugh; What goes around, comes around.

Article copyright: Sandesh

Roshni B.. (For justice and dignity)     13 January 2013

you cant generalise all women to be same kind like nisha.

can you tell me why in states like Bihar,and even in other parts of india,grooms' prices are set up as 25 lakh,50 lakh,1 crore,etc if they are IAS,IIM,IITs?

Now dont say this doesnt happen.I am sure you'll come out with this reply.

Also I have seen some matrimonial ads of grooms where they ask for a "decent marriage".can you explain me what it means?

Cookie Chawla (Partner)     13 January 2013

Hellooo

Are you a divorcee here! I asked because I know of few divorcee males (ex. clients) who are looking for ‘decent marriage’ without any MRP (maximum retail price).

Now do not say NO. I am sure you'll now not come out with such a reply.

I can fix your meeting.  

Roshni B.. (For justice and dignity)     14 January 2013

Originally posted by : Cookie

Are you a divorcee here! I asked because I know of few divorcee males (ex. clients) who are looking for ‘decent marriage’ without any MRP (maximum retail price).

What has my marital status got to do with what I said.I talked of India's burning problem.

You know of FEW divorcee males who are disinterested in dowry.Yes mostly divorcees will have a simple marriage because they dont like the same pomp and show that was dun in 1st marriage.But u said you know FEW males only of this type.So what does it say about our society??:)

But I am not talking of them.I am talking largely of unmarried men whose matrimonial ads say "decent marriage".If You dont know what decent marriage means for them,ask anyone.

I can fix your meeting.

I dont need to meet anyone,since I did not talk of divorcees' marriages..I guess you have not understood what I was trying to say.So leave it and chill !

Cookie Chawla (Partner)     14 January 2013

Helooooo

Which world post your divorce you are living in?. It is blasphemy to think that a divorcee male will most probably not suggest MRP. The once I suggested meeting for you are divorcee males, now they are looking for ‘decent marriages’ PERIOD. If you know what you are talking here then you should also understand what their requirements are those I offered meeting.

Did not your father or your IL’s exchange gifts anything to you or to your ex husband / family out of love and affection for you during / at any time of THAT marriage of yours? Now which Society you come from to tell me what you are now are passionately talking via this posting.

India’s burning problem today is rape every 2 minutes not dowry incases in your Society no one subscribes to forms of media.

Advocate understand more than you can tell me what to understand, we have that knack and interned into matters related to Law not public hypes. Donot hype issues out of no issues unnecessarily with advocates here. Remain just a member (public) not climb over my head here.

3 Like

Msk-need -nuetral- laws (self)     14 January 2013

Roshini,

Dont time pass again, please make something useful, if you read through your all posts it is always 'Anti-men' in nature.

It is not groom family alone that inculcates the practice of dowry, it is also by bride family. If any boy says no dowry, then they suspect that boy is to have some fault, more insult, they worry whether the boy is potent or not, second they feel it is less than their status if they dont provide dowry and later involve in tall talk in society saying we did so snd so in marriage, heck then why alone blame grrom family? most family has son and daughter, they equal by giving to daughter and taking from duaghter-in-law

so here topic is about who misuse the law? mostly women, and these women fell pray to lawyers for their bread and butter. Ever since i started going to HC, i always spare my time in court in heeding to lawyers conversation with clients at a distance, what is unfortunate some family were misinformed by lawyers and pull them to DV or 498a 

And saying you cannot say all women is acceptable, but not applicable in case most of women who goes to court with divorce plus 498a

**Victim** (job)     15 January 2013

Bhai aap log kuch bhi kaho humein to bada maja aya lagta hai jingle bell jingle bell to abhi ho raha hai.......saala D. Sharma bhi soch raha hoga ki 498 (a) mein uski saari family chali jayegi......the fun begins now.....common guys sing with me Jingle Bell Jingle Bell Jingle all the way.

rajiv_lodha (zz)     15 January 2013

These psudo faminists shud accept that 498a is MISUSED TO A LARGE EXTENT & IS ANY EASY TOOL TO EXTORT MONEY.

Simply keeping ur eyes & ears shut wont make the wrong a right!