My son who is 6 years old was under the treatment of a doctor in Karnal. After treating and admitting my son in his in his hospital several times, the doctor said that he is unable to cure him. I took my son to PGIMER chandigarh where the doctors immediately admitted him through emergency. They diagnoised that the previous doctor was giving wrong treatment. They said that the doctor in Karnal was treating for Neurocysticercosis where as there were no such thing.
Since the treatment was wrongly diagnoised and correct medication was not done hence they operated the skull of my son and installed a shunt in his brain to discharge the liquid as the liquid was creating fits and pain in skull with continous vomitting. Actually, my son was suffering from TB of brain and the Karnal doctor was treating for Neurocysticercosis of brain. He gave such poisionous drugs like Albandazole for 28 days which was useless and had wrong effect and was not needed. He mistreated my son for around 2.5 months.
Now my son will be dependent of the brain shunt through out his life. We were not able to send him to school and he has lost two years study also.
The doctors at PGI say that had the boy been brought before or if TB medication be given by the Karnal doctor, my son would not have to get brain shunt installed. His studies for two would also had not been suffered.
Now, kindly guide me if I can file a suite against the Karnal doctor in consumer court for compensation and wrong treatment? And what is the procedure and what compensation can be given. I have spend around 3.5 to 4 lacs on his treatment.