All is NOT well (Harrased by Biased Laws)     27 August 2014

How to avoid maintenance in 125

(1.) Won the Divorce case filed by me on the grounds of Wife cruelty and paid around 4.5 lakhs as maintenance u/s 24 @ 20K Per month, which is now stopped as it was pendant lite. No Permanent Alimony ordered by the court.

(2.) Wife Desertion proved in my divorce case and mentioned clearly in judgement's order.

(3.) Wife appealed in High Court Against Divorce orders, which is yet not admitted after 2 dates in high court.

(4.) Fake 498, DV and 125 cases are on trial

(5.) 498 - All other family members found innocent by the court and discharged. Chargesheet filed only against me and trial is going on

(6.) 125 - Wife is MBA and was working earlier, but not working now just to have the maintenence.

Question: 

(1.) How should I avoid the maintenance in the 125 case as trial is just going to start next month and my advocate told me that at the time of interim maintenance nothing of above would be considerd even by the citations in your support

(2.) are there any Judgement / Citations available where maintenance got rejected due to divorce on the grounds of wife cruelty and Desertiion and on the basis of above conditions

I have got bit confused now. Please guide me how can I avoid ther interim meiantenance in 125 and get this dismissed

Tajobsindia (Senior Partner )     27 August 2014

Search and discuss with your Advocate following;

1. Dr.G.Sivaraman Vs. P.Muthukumari on 5 September, 2013 from Madras High Court

2. Rohtash Singh vs. Ramendri (Smt) and Others {2000 (3) SCC 180} 

Question of Law - the issue arose before the Hon’ble Supreme Court is as to whether the wife against whom decree for divorce has been passed on account of her deserting the husband, can claim maintenance allowance under Section 125 Cr.P.C. and how far the plea of desertion to be treated to be an effective plea in support of husband’s refusal to pay her maintenance allowance.

Held -  "The Claim for maintenance under Section 125, Cr. P.C. before divorce is based on the subsistence of marriage while claim for maintenance of a divorced wife after divorce is based on the foundation provided by Explanation (b) to Sub-section (1) of Section 125, Cr. P.C. and as a wife, she is entitled to maintenance unless she suffers from any of the disabilities indicated in Section 125(4) and in another capacity, namely, as a divorced woman, she is again entitled to claim maintenance from the person of whom she was once the wife and as a woman after divorce becomes a destitute and if she cannot maintain herself or remains unmarried, the man who was, once her husband continues to be under a statutory duty and obligation to provide maintenance to her.

While answering so, the Hon’ble Supreme Court has also agreed with the contention raised on the side of the husband therein that since the decree of divorce was passed on the ground of desertion of the husband by the respondent-wife, she would not be entitled for maintenance for any period prior to the passing of the decree under Section 13 of the Hindu Marriage Act. The Hon’ble Supreme Court has observed that "To that extent, learned Counsel appears to be correct". However, the Hon’ble Supreme Court was not inclined to interfere with the award of maintenance for the period prior to the date of divorce in that case for the reason that the period is too short to be interfered with."

. Also argue with proof of her education and past work experience that the respondent-wife was - is gainfully employed for the past XYZ years, as such, she is disentitled to claim any maintenance since the date of her employment.

[In your other duplicate Post in this forum I donot subscribe to the very opening observation of Laxmi Kant Joshi maybe he missed reading that the earlier interim was awarded under S. 24 HMA. which has now no relevance in S. 125 CrPC as proceedings have not even started under The Code]

[Last reply]

All is NOT well (Harrased by Biased Laws)     28 August 2014

Thanks Sir,

Is it true that at time of deciding Interim Maintenance Hon'ble lower court doesn't listen about any citations / judgement supporting my case like the one you have suggested and any other where maintenance to the wife got dismissed.

All the Judgements where Maintenance to wife got dismissed are of High courts or Supreme court, So it infers that lower court never listens to these citation / judgement. Is it True?

Kindly Enlighten on this.

All is NOT well (Harrased by Biased Laws)     01 September 2014

Dear Experts and Ld. Members,

Can you provide your suggestions / comment on this Please.

Originally posted by : All is NOT well

Thanks Sir,

Is it true that at time of deciding Interim Maintenance Hon'ble lower court doesn't listen about any citations / judgement supporting my case like the one you have suggested and any other where maintenance to the wife got dismissed.

All the Judgements where Maintenance to wife got dismissed are of High courts or Supreme court, So it infers that lower court never listens to these citation / judgement. Is it True?

Kindly Enlighten on this.

All is NOT well (Harrased by Biased Laws)     01 September 2014

Dear Experts and Ld. Members,

Can you provide your suggestions / comment on this Please.