Dear S. Ajit Singh Cheema ji,
Many thanks for your sincere advise. We had been trying to settle the matter with the Bank in a very cordial way and have even offered for resturcturing the entire loan. I give here under a few further facts of the case:
The Bankers reduced the C/C (hyp) Limit from Rs. 25 Lacs to Rs. 24 Lacs frfom 01.03.2012, without informing us in writing, as wer had agreed to gradual reduction of the Limit by Rs. 10,000.00 every month from Nov. 2011, when our sales had gone down below Rs. 45 Lacs, in first 7 Months, but we had also informed that by the end of the Fiscal year 2011-12, we shall be able to reach our Target of Rs. 1.00 Cr.
The account wasdeclared irregular due to the reduction of Limit as well as debit of interest.
In the month of March 2012, we did deposit a sum of Rs. 75,500.00 but the bankers never cooperated and returned many of our cheques un paid, damaging our reputation and tarnishing our image in the business circles.
We still cooperated and deposited a furth sum of Rs. 50.000.00 in the end of April 2012, to bring the balance down from the earlier limit of Rs. 25.00 Lacs.
The bankers were given proff of our VAT returns, showing a sales of Rs. 95.30 Lacs upto 31.03.2012, nd requested that the limit be restored to the original level, but they did not yield and kept saying that as per computer our account is running irregular since 01.03.2012 and would be classified as NPA on 30th May 2012.
Even on 29th May 2012, we deposited further sum of Rs. 32,000.00 but the Bank was insisting that we should deposit a minimum of Rs. 1.32 Lacs to bring the Limit below Rs. 24.00 Lacs, now they have written to us that account had beome NPA.
The RBI Guidelines are clear on the subject that where in any account the interest is being serviced it can not be classified as NPA, herein the Bank is using its own interpetaion and trying to harass us.
Please sugguest some strong remedy and also the Authority, we can approach to get our account back on track. We had been working with the same bank for th last 40 yrs.
Best regards...Vinod