Ibrahim   14 November 2017

Marriage Registration

Hi everyone, I am currently married under muslim custom and have my nikkah certificate. I would like to register my marriage. My wife belongs to india and she has all her documents such as pan and aadhar card. My concern is i am an UK national and I do not hold any indian documents obviously. Can someone please guide me which documents would I require to register my marriage. Thank you.

Rama chary Rachakonda (Secunderabad/Telangana state Highcourt practice watsapp no.9989324294 )     14 November 2017

But, as far as muslims are concerned the marriage certificate issued by concerned jamath is sufficient.

Hemant Chaudhary   14 November 2017

You can register your marriage under special marriage act ..for further consultation kindly contact in person..ph:- 9654062181

Vijay Raj Mahajan (Advocate)     14 November 2017

You require passport as proof of your identity, age and nationality. You should have decree of divorce if had a previous marriage before marrying the Indian woman. You both have been living together for one month after the Muslim marriage and both parties will have to give notice period in presence of 3 witnesses the marriage will be registered under SMA.

Vijay Raj Mahajan (Advocate)     14 November 2017

You require passport as proof of your identity, age and nationality. You should have decree of divorce if had a previous marriage before marrying the Indian woman. You both have been living together for one month after the Muslim marriage and both parties will have to give notice to the Marriage Officer for registration of Muslim marriage under the Special Marriage Act, 1954 in the district where the Indian wife lives. After one month notice period in presence of 3 witnesses the marriage will be registered under SMA.

Ibrahim   15 November 2017

Guys I wanted to know as I am already married. Would I still need to file my registration under special marriage if yes whats the reason. Thank you

Ibrahim   15 November 2017

Guys I wanted to know as I am already married. Would I still need to file my registration under special marriage if yes whats the reason. Thank you

Kumar Doab (FIN)     16 November 2017

Log onto website of your respective state govt  or inquire from O/o Marriage Registrar

Kumar Doab (FIN)     16 November 2017

e.g;

https://delhi.gov.in/wps/wcm/connect/DoIT/delhi+govt/community/marriage+certificate+and+registration

You shall be clear.

In case you are facing issues, approach Local lawyer that handles such matters.