Special Courts For Cheque Bounced Cases- Veerappa Moily

The Union Law and Justice Minister, Dr. Veerappa Moily has stressed the need for immediate setting up of special courts to deal with surmounting cases under section 138 of the Negotiable Instruments Act. Dr. Moily in his letter to the Finance Minister has said that there are about 38 lakh cheque bouncing cases pending in the trial courts and this needs to be speedily addressed by setting up special courts.

The Law Commission in its report had recommended that pendency of large number of cases relating to cheque bouncing tarnish the image of business. Cases relating to dishonoured cheques affect business within and outside the country. It said cheque bouncing cases need to be speedily disposed of through this measure, lest litigants may lose faith in the judicial system. Speedy disposal of such cases would instil confidence.

The Supreme Court in its judgement had directed that whenever any legislation is introduced either in Parliament or in the State Legislatures, it should be accompanied by a Judicial Impact Assessment highlighting the increase the legislation which would impose upon the court system. It also directed the Government to make Judicial Impact Assessment an essential component of the Financial Memorandum of legislative proposals. To study various aspects of the Supreme Court direction, the government had appointed a committee to recommend methodology and infrastructure for instituinalising Judicial Impact Assessment in the law-making process, so that the government can anticipate the likely cost of implementing legislation for timely justice to litigants.

"Loved reading this piece by jyoti ?
Join LAWyersClubIndia's network for daily News Updates, Judgment Summaries, Articles, Forum Threads, Online Law Courses, and MUCH MORE!!"

Tags :

Views  2412  Report

Contract Drafting
Learn from best faculties in India
Free 30 Hr online streaming with pendrive
Learn more

Comments
15 years ago MRKGANDHI

The decision to have separate courts is not bad; how many varieties of special courts that would be established. In principle, more number of courts are required and apex court rightly observed whenever a legislation is introduced its impact assessment should be made. Such step helps in getting meaningful results. Let some how or other more number of court be made available. Mr. Moily is talking of commercial courts; but the question is why monetary limit of above five crores. Let there be commercial courts for every limit and that helps development of specialization.

15 years ago ghansham das

Dear Mr Veerapan Moily, I take it for granted that you are a Law MInister. Would you be fair to high light the cause for the cheque bouncing matter, pls give press release accordingly. try to educate your citizens,voters,people,public of the nation, hope you wud not take it otherwise but definitely to respond it in all fair views. 1- No of chq bouncing case,year wise; at diff. district courts, Metro Politan Magistrate courts, Session courts, High courts, Supreme courts. age wise. 2- Try to give analysis for the same.why case are registered / & why are abnormal delays 4- The reasons from your side/ views/ ministririals . 5-What have you/ your dept had taken cognigence of the same/ and what remedy now after passing useful life time as an waste for judiciary you have sought. Pls do not think in the line of a serial-killer " To HANG OR NOT TO HANG' tHEN HANG OVER?? 6- hAVE YOU EVER READ THE 138 CASE, BARE ACT, WHAT IS YOUR FINDINGS, AS A LAW MINISTER.PLS COMMENT. LET THE LAW EXPERTS TO DECIDE THE FAITH OF JUDICARY. 8- hOW MUCH TIME FROM THE LIFE OF THE PEOPLE YOU NEED TO CORRRECT THE SYSTEM, YOU MAY BE ASKED TO RESIGN FOR SOME UNHAPPYNESS OVER ANY ITEMISED CHARGES, WHAT WILL BE FAITH OF THE PUBLIC, WHERRE IT WILL LAND, AND HOW? WHAT RECOURSE OF FAITH? 9- LET IT BE IN ABSOLUTE TERMS TO BE CLERIFIED THE PUBLIC 90% IS MADE LITIGANT BY YOUR SYSTEM NOT BY NATURE. PLS COME OPEN IND ON THE PRESS RELEASE/ SEND A COPY TO LAWERS CLUB OF INDIA, AND TO ME. THANKS

15 years ago ghansham das

Dear Mr Veerapan Moily, I take it for granted that you are a Law MInister. Would you be fair to high light the cause for the cheque bouncing matter, pls give press release accordingly. try to educate your citizens,voters,people,public of the nation, hope you wud not take it otherwise but definitely to respond it in all fair views. 1- No of chq bouncing case,year wise; at diff. district courts, Metro Politan Magistrate courts, Session courts, High courts, Supreme courts. age wise. 2- Try to give analysis for the same.why case are registered / & why are abnormal delays 4- The reasons from your side/ views/ ministririals . 5-What have you/ your dept had taken cognigence of the same/ and what remedy now after passing useful life time as an waste for judiciary you have sought. Pls do not think in the line of a serial-killer " To HANG OR NOT TO HANG' tHEN HANG OVER?? 6- hAVE YOU EVER READ THE 138 CASE, BARE ACT, WHAT IS YOUR FINDINGS, AS A LAW MINISTER.PLS COMMENT. LET THE LAW EXPERTS TO DECIDE THE FAITH OF JUDICARY. 8- hOW MUCH TIME FROM THE LIFE OF THE PEOPLE YOU NEED TO CORRRECT THE SYSTEM, YOU MAY BE ASKED TO RESIGN FOR SOME UNHAPPYNESS OVER ANY ITEMISED CHARGES, WHAT WILL BE FAITH OF THE PUBLIC, WHERRE IT WILL LAND, AND HOW? WHAT RECOURSE OF FAITH? 9- LET IT BE IN ABSOLUTE TERMS TO BE CLERIFIED THE PUBLIC 90% IS MADE LITIGANT BY YOUR SYSTEM NOT BY NATURE. PLS COME OPEN IND ON THE PRESS RELEASE/ SEND A COPY TO LAWERS CLUB OF INDIA, AND TO ME. THANKS

You are not logged in . Please login to post comments.