Sameer (SE)     20 July 2012

Nri father gifts property to nri son

Hello Experts,

I need your help.

My father and I are both NRI's. We both live in USA. 
As my dad  is getting old so he wants to gift his property(house in India) to me.
My quesiton - how can I transfer property in my name  without visiting India

I was told that this can be done through Gift Deed.

1. Does gift deed has to made on Stamp paper or on normal paper. US does not have concept of stamp paper . Can someone  guide me and provide me a sample gift deed leter.
I was told that my father has to sign gift deed in front of Indian Consulate as a Donor and I have to sign as donee

2. How to register/transfer the house in my name. I don't have plans to visit India.
Do we both need a power of attorney. Please guide me . Also power of attroney will be on normal paper or stamp paper? Can someone provide me sample of POA

Thanks for your time and help

Sameer

Adv.R.P.Chugh (Advocate/Legal Consultant (rpchughadvocatesupremecourt@hotmail.com))     20 July 2012

The Gift deed as well as POA would be executed (signed) in the Indian Consul in your State. The POA then would be authorised to get this deed registered on your behalf. 

Sameer (SE)     20 July 2012

Thanks Adv Bharat.

So I believe we will need 1 Gift and 2 POA.(1 each for me and my dat).
So can someone provide me a sample of Gift deed and POA?