I am a resident of Andhra Pradesh.I am married and live with my wife and daughter.My daughter is 20 years of age.During the second wave of covid,both my wife and daughter got infected.I was looking after both of them.My daughter recovered in five days but my wife's condition worsened after a week.She was advised hospitalisation by our family doctor. I searched for an oxygen bed frantically and took my wife as her oxygen levels dropped to below 90.I contacted the hospital authorities, who asked me to come. As i had insurance policy, i took my health card along with me. The hospital was a network hospital of the health insurance company and a covid hospital too with cashless facility.
But they refused admission on the basis of health insurance and insisted on cash payment only. They denied online transaction too. With no time to lose, i had to admit her by paying money. The hospital authorities didn't give any sort of bills for hospitalisation, investigations, or medicines. They didn't even give me the reports. I contacted the insurance company which informed me to show my health card there before admission and also during the course of treatment. But, the hospitals authorities refused to co-operate. We were handed over a bill of 3 lacs, which they forced us to pay by cash only and no bills were given. Only after payment,they handed over discharge summary.They sent four messages equating to Rs. 55,000/- to my mobile phone. I took a picture of all the reports, the room in which my wife was being treated, screenshots of my calls made during the course of treatment to the insurance company and gave a complaint to the insurance company and police. The actual cost of treatment for non critical patients is Rs 6000/- per day including oxygen, nursing charges, doctor consultation,. But we were charged 27,000/-per day and we had no choice as there was no vacancy anywhere. Going by the rules set by the government, the actual treatment should have costed around one lakh maximum. But, the hospital exploited our situation, being a network hospital and a covid hospital. The police have registered a case under section 420,188, IPC. Is there any way to get the extra money i have paid back. I have snapshots of admission form, investigation, doctors prescripttion, discharge summary in ordinary format (not computerized).Can I go to consumer's court. Just my statement and evidence of amount withdrawn during the hospitalisation period from my bank i have. This is not an isolated issue. Almost all hospitals are fleecing Covid patients by exploiting the helplessness of the patients. Can anyone give me some advice. I have forwarded my complaint to the government authorities,IRDA. upon seeing their news item regarding the same issue. The insurance company has replied and has regretted the inconvenience.They have agreed to help with reimbursement if bills are given. The hospital authorities are willing to give bill for 55,000/-.I did not accept as i paid more. The messages didn't contain any receipt number also.Just the amount paid and name of the patient.Not even what the amount was taken for.There was no link to download the receipt too.No website address was given. Requesting advise of learned advocates.