I want to know whether company can file defamation complaint / suit against individual or not.
Anurag (Assoicate) 08 September 2009
I want to know whether company can file defamation complaint / suit against individual or not.
Kamal Grover (Advocate High Court Chandigarh M:09814110005 email:adv.kamal.grover@gmail.com) 08 September 2009
ys it can. coz in the eyes of law company is also an idependent identity.
Anurag (Assoicate) 09 September 2009
is there any judgement is support of it.
vinjamuri ranga babu (advoctes/attorneys) 12 September 2009
hello,
yes, the company can file defamation
vr
PRAKASHCHANDRA MARU (lawyer) 14 September 2009
YES I AGREE WITH MR GROVER
Anurag (Assoicate) 17 September 2009
i need supporting Judgment on the same.
N.Ramakrishnan (Advocate/ Senior Partner) 17 September 2009
Dear Anurag,
I tend to agree with all my friends who are of the view that a Company can indeed sue for defamation. I am not able to recall off hand of any judgments on this issue. However, I remember that TVS Motors recently sued Bajaj Auto for defamation claiming damages of Rs.250 crores. Similarly, Google was sued by a Bombay based company for defamation. You can follow these cases for further info.
Ramakrishnan, ADV
Mehak cehal (law student) 29 July 2011
HOW TO DRAFT A DEFAMATION CASE FOR REPUTED COMPANY
THANKACHAN V P (Advocate & Notary) 29 July 2011
If the company can be proceeded against, the company can file suit for defamation
2006 (3) KLT 335
Hon'ble Mr. Justice K. Padmanabhan Naira
Mammootti v. Rajaji Mathew Thomas
Crl. M.C. No.1725 of 2004
Decided on 5th June, 2006
Penal Code 1860, S.499 -- Intention to harm reputation and to give publicity to imputation are essential requisites to constitute an offence of defamation.
The essence of the offence of defamation is the intention to harm the reputation and it necessarily requires the publicity to be given to the imputation. The essence of the offence is that the imputation must have been made either with the intention of causing harm or knowing or having reason to believe that such imputation would cause harm to a person. (para. 14)
Penal Code 1860, S.499 -- Prosecution for committing offence of defamation can be initiated against a Company also.