I was given Training in Foreign Exchange by Syndicate Bank for two months. The Bank has incurred a cost of around Rs 1.5 Lakh on me. Just after completion of Training I got a job offer from a Central University for the post of Asst Professor and then I resigned from the job. The Bank has accepted my resignation but in order to relieve me from the services of the Bank, they asked me to refund the cost of Training i e Rs 1.5 Lakh. It is to be noted that, No Bond was signed by me. I was never informed by the Bank that in case of resignation I need to refund the entire cost of training. Instead of that, they informed me that, notional cost would have been recovered from me, in case I fail to attend the training program. I resigned from the Bank after being confirmed into the services. As per the Appointment letter issued by Syndicate Bank, I need to refund the cost of training or any other cost which the Bank has incurred on my behalf.
Therefore, keeping in view of these, I refused to pay the amount. Now I am worried about whether they can take any legal action against me. Please guide me in this regard.