I am selling my seven years old flat which I bring up thro' NRE income.
value of flat is nearly 50 Lakhs, how mush I pay to income tax, or
Please guide me to handle the income tax part..
I.Kapoor.
Indermohan Kapoor (Retired) 09 December 2013
I am selling my seven years old flat which I bring up thro' NRE income.
value of flat is nearly 50 Lakhs, how mush I pay to income tax, or
I.Kapoor.
sreekanth (Assistant Manager- Taxation) 10 December 2013
You have to Pay Long term Capital Gains, under Income Tax Act
Refer the "Section Analysis" part of this page, Which explains in details how to Calculate , Long term Capital Gains
Link:https://www.exploreincometax.com/Indian-Income-tax-Act-1961/Section-48
R RAJAGOPALAN (ADVOCATE) 10 December 2013
YOUR QUERY:I am selling my seven years old flat which I bought thro' NRE income.
value of flat is nearly 50 Lakhs, how much I pay as income tax, or
REPLY: Are you still an NRI, a non-Resident?
AS YOU OWNED THE FLAT FOR MORE THAN 36 months,it is a Long Term Capital Asset. You have to pay tax on the Long Term Capital gains.
If you can prove that you had acquired/purchased it with convertible foreign exchange, as required in section 115C(b) of the Income tax Act 1961, you need pay tax at the rate of 10% only (without any Basic Exemption) as prescribed in Section 115E. Otherwise you will pay income tax at 20% as prescribed in section 112.