i have got a cheque returned with remarks- kindly contact drawer,
can I file s.138 case against the drawer.
thnx
seema sharma ( manager) 05 March 2012
i have got a cheque returned with remarks- kindly contact drawer,
can I file s.138 case against the drawer.
thnx
Arvind Singh Chauhan (advocate) 05 March 2012
No this remark does not cover 138 NI Act.
Shonee Kapoor (Legal Evangelist - TRIPAKSHA) 05 March 2012
Agreed.
seema sharma ( manager) 06 March 2012
what if i give him notice and he didi not pay.
"The Punjab and Haryana High Court in the case of M. M. Malik v. Prem Kumar Goyal , has analysed the aforesaid sections and held that the cause of action will be complete when the drawer of the cheque fails to make payment within 15 days of the receipt of the notice contemplated by proviso (b) and that the offence shall be deemed to have been committed only from the date when the notice period expires. The court had construed the endorsement "refer to drawer" as the bankers inability to honour the cheque for want of funds in the account of the drawer and further held that as far as the jurisdiction was concerned, the principle that the ‘debtor has to find the creditor” would apply and that the court within whose jurisdiction the creditor is located will have jurisdiction to entertain the complaint"
Shonee Kapoor (Legal Evangelist - TRIPAKSHA) 06 March 2012
Right issue a notice. W/o issue no legal action stands.
seema sharma ( manager) 06 March 2012
what should be done by me, pls guide steps and process in this matter.
how should I convince court that this is a case under s.138, if court objects that there is not insufficent funds but refer to drawer.
pls guide
DEFENSE ADVOCATE.-firmaction@g (POWER OF DEFENSE IS IMMENSE ) 06 March 2012
The debtor must seek creditor has been rejected by SC.
Shonee Kapoor (Legal Evangelist - TRIPAKSHA) 07 March 2012
Unable to understand JSDN, please elaborate.
DEFENSE ADVOCATE.-firmaction@g (POWER OF DEFENSE IS IMMENSE ) 07 March 2012
this is in reply to above part of the query.
as far as the jurisdiction was concerned, the principle that the ‘debtor has to find the creditor” would apply and that the court within whose jurisdiction the creditor is located will have jurisdiction to entertain the complaint"
seema sharma ( manager) 08 March 2012
can i initiate steps under s.138 or not, pls explain
DEFENSE ADVOCATE.-firmaction@g (POWER OF DEFENSE IS IMMENSE ) 08 March 2012
SC has held in many cases that the provisions of NI act are legal fiction and hence all of them have to be strictly followed . Most of the complainants fail to follow many imp requirements and that is why it is always easy for any accused of cheque case to win.
seema sharma ( manager) 08 March 2012
what are the important requirement, pls anyone elborate.
my main query ios whether I can initiate s.138 case or not.
pls guide