Rupesh Sahani   13 July 2020

liquor case in Bihar by excise

Sir, mera ek padosi 10 litre Desi sharab ke Saath pakda gaya hai, excise department dawara,
US ladka ko jamanat (bail) kitna din me milega.

Nirali Nayak   09 June 2021

Hello sir, greetings of the day.
As per your query, Under Section 41 of Bihar Prohibition and Excise Act, which mentions the penalty for import, export, manufacture, transport or sale of alcohol. It states that is any person is involved in any such activity or is found to be intoxicated, shall be punished with a term which will not be less than eight years which can be extended up to ten years, or with fine which can be extended up to ten lakh rupees or with both. The Bihar Prohibition and Excise Act takes it less harsh on violators, especially the first timers. The first time offenders will not be sent to prison mandatorily, rather they will just be penalised with a fine of Rs 50000 after which they can go freely. If your friend is a first timer, he won’t be jailed. But for second timers the punishments are harsh. They will be fined and jailed both. 
Hope this solves your query.
Nirali Nayak
Law Student