Mrs. C Rajan (Law Student)     18 December 2010

SERVICE TAX DEFAULT

I was rendering consultancy service as a Sales Promoter to a PVC products manufacturer from 2003-2007.

during my work tenure with the manufacturer, neither they asked nor I charged any Service Tax from them. As far as my knowledge goes, I should have raised a Bill on them for my services including the Service Tax amount added to it. While they could have got the amount adjusted in their Excise Duty.

But I neither raised any bill nor they instited they used to raise Credit Note in my favour and pay me my dues.

In 2010 they had an inquiry from the Service Tax Dept. asking for the Service Tax amount.

They diverted the inquiry to me and according to the Dept. I should pay the Services Tax amount due on the total earnings of mine during that period from the manufacturer.

Now when I contacted the manufacturer, he is not ready to pay on the pretext that he will not get the amount adjusted in the Excise Duty which shall be paid by him now, since the Service Tax adjustment is of 2003-2007. Though I have raised the Service Tax Bill of the due amount on the manufacturer.

Sir, my questions are:

Is the manufacturer entitled for the adjustment of the old Service Tax payable (in 2003-2007) in the Current to be paid Excise Duty?

Is there any way I can plead for exemption from paying this?

Kindly suggest me as I am now retired and due to very limited source of income, not in position to pay.

Regards.

suresh kumar (junior lawyer)     18 December 2010

where you raised a tax invoice of memo bill?

What is the contents in the department notice?

how much amount was involved in the issued?

Whether you obted composition of not?

please post this we will reply you in short

Mrs. C Rajan (Law Student)     18 December 2010

The manufacturer is in Gujarat.

I stay in Delhi.

the amount involved is appx. 5-7 lacs.

the notice says that I should pay within 15 days.

rakshit (Associates)     19 December 2010

Since 06.5.2005, the  Govt introduced the scheme of exemtion to the service providers, initialy it was Rs. 4 lakhs in a financial year. Now it has been raised to Rs. 10 lakhs. You have not given financial yearwise break up of payments received by you against the consultancy provided by you. Conclusion can be drawn only when break up is provided.

Raksh*t  

Deviprasad (Advocate)     20 December 2010

Hello Medam,

After reading your quary, in my opinion your providing the "Business Auxiliary Service" to your client. According to the B.A.S your doing the salepromotion of PVC Pipes, for that your getting the commission. On that commission you have to pay service tax .

As per Finance Act, once you started providing the the taxable service to your client, you have to pay service tax. wether you collect it from your client or you have to pay from your own pocket.

In my opinion medam you better again discuss with your client and explain him that, whatever service tax payment he made to you he can utilise it for his Central Excise duty payment. There is no loss for your client, if he pay the service tax amount to you..

If he agrees than its better medam, otherwise you have to get registered and you have to pay service tax from your own pocket.

If your paying the service tax from your pocket medam, than there is a one way to reduce the service tax payment. By applying the "Cum Duty price" formula  

Deviprasad G.K

sindhumangat (Lawyer)     29 December 2010

You can explore the following options:

Bifurcate the receipts year wise and see whehter you fall under the category of small service provider and eligible for exemption under Notification 06/05-CE.

Up to 2006 the liability under Business Auxiliary service arises only when service is provided by commercial concern. Since you are an individual, you can claim that you are not liable to pay up to 2006.

If you were working as a commission agent, there is  general exemption up to 09-07-04. Exemption after this date is available only for commission agents engaged in sale of agricultural produce alone.

Persuade and convince the company that they can take credit of service tax paid to you.

Treat the amount received during the years as 'cum duty' and remit