shoma (na)     05 January 2011

Legal Heir...

I was a live-in-partner with my husband from the last 20 years. He passed away before a week. His bank funds are frozen by her wife who had seperated from him for the last 20 years. However, she never gave him divorce.

And, my husband had recently bought an apartment under his sisters name. He still owed the builder 10Lacs that are frozen in the bank account. Need urgent advise... Please...

I don't want the money to be transferred to his wife. As, he never wanted her to have any part of the property. I do not mind if his sister gets the money but won't like her so-called wife to receive any share of that money.

Thank you and please advise urgently

as he did not divorce his wife you don't fulfill the qualification of getting your partner's property if he has not left any will in your favour.If you have any child from him then he/she will get his/her father's property.

Anil Agrawal (Retired)     05 January 2011

So-called wife? Then what are you? So-called lived-in relation?

shoma (na)     05 January 2011

He did had a WILL, but the wording of the WILL (in hindi) says that "... after my death, I DO NOT want any part of my PROPERTY (MILLKAT) to go to (wife's name)... "

It says property and does not mention bank account or such miscellaneous items.

a valid will needs two witness.Yet you won't get anything , the property will go to other legal heirs. 

raj kumar ji (LAW STUDENT )     13 January 2011

HI SHOMA JI ,

IF UR HUSBAND LEAVE A WILL WHICH IS RAGISTERED AND THE FIRST WIFE OF UR HUSBAND CAN NOT DIVORCED . SO IN THIS CASE UR HUSBAND FIRST WIFE IS ALSO GET A SHARE FROM HIS HUSBAND PROPERTY ALSO