My customer issued a cheque to me for Rs.100000 but i had to take Rs.400000 from him. He converted numeric 100000 to 400000 by adding L stroke in front of me and gave me cheque not writing amount in words. I wrote amount in words in front of him i.e Rs. Four lacs only was written by me on that cheque. After some days when i presented the cheque, it was dishonoured due to insufficient funds. As our relations soured, i filed a case u/s 138. No reply was received. But after some time the customer filed a FIR with the police alleging alteration in cheque form numeric 1 to 4 and in words too by rubbing one and replacing it by four. Amount in words was written in front of him. He also produced a cash voucher which had forged signature of me as receiptant of cash amount of one lac. The cheque was sent to FSL which gave the report that numeric 1 was altered to 4 but there was no alteration in amount in words. However the FSL report of voucher suggested that my signature on cash voucher might be same as my admitted signatures. Now despite this the judge wants to frame charges against me U/S 420,467,471. My only fault is that i had written amount in words on cheque. Now kindly advise can the judge frame charges despite it being established that there is no alteration in amount in words. My lawyer says the most he should frame u/s 420. Can a complainant tell lies all the time and defendant suffer due to him. Further how can one pay one lac in cash although as per IT ACT & the INDIAN STAMP ACT it is not allowed. The receipt voucher has no revenue stamp too. What is the law regarding issue of cheques and payments to be made against cheques dishonored. Is it not mandatory to take the dishonored cheque and then make payment.