I am a dowry victim. My brother-in-law has taken my stridhan 10 lakhs at the time our engagement saying that in 1 year he will divide the joint property (of my husband, brother-in-laws) and give our share in 1 year. He told that they have some borrowings on the joint agricultural land he asked us to use this 10 lakhs amount in the joint and within 1 year he will give our share. Like that he took my stridhan. It been 5 years of our marriage he neither he gave our share nor my stridhan.
And my husband and me are living separately since 3 years. we have 3 and half years old kid. My husband is also money minded and he is not doing job and harrassing me for my salary. In-laws are harrased me for my salary to put into in the joint family. I have put my salary around 4 lakhs in joint family not bearing their harrasment.
I have asked my brother-in-law my stridhan several times. We have a cheque proof of 10 lakhs given to him. But he refuged to give that money.
What steps i need to take to send him to jail. If he is convicted how many years he will be sentenced to jail. Please Guide me.
Dowry Victim