Payel Nandi (LAW STUDENT)     03 May 2011

MAINTENANCE OF HUSBANDS

WE HAVE HEARD THAT THE WIVES R GIVEN MONEY FOR MAINTENANCE BY THEIR HUSBANDS AT THE TIME OR AFTER THE DIVORCE.CAN THE HUSBAND IN ANY CASE CLAIM MONEY FOR MAINTENANCE FROM HIS WIFE AFTER DIVORCE?

Adv Archana Deshmukh (Practicing Advocate)     03 May 2011

Yes, the husband can claim maintainance / parmanant alimony from wife under the Hindu Marriage Act.

Suchitra. S (Advocate)     03 May 2011

Not in any case. Only if he is unable to maintain himself. He has to prove this before the Court. Not otherwise.

@payal nandi

CAN THE HUSBAND IN ANY CASE CLAIM MONEY FOR MAINTENANCE FROM HIS WIFE AFTER DIVORCE?

Noooooooooo,i agree the fact that if he is unable to maintain himself he will be entitled ,but court in 99%  didnt give maintainance to husband  just find it in google  by typing maintenance husband after divorce ,you get nomore results.

And I havent seen these type of  case in my life (

HUSBAND filed  MAINTENANCE FROM HIS WIFE AFTER DIVORCed

)

And as a woman you know that after divorce wife is entitled to claim maintenance untill she marry.

see;

1.https://Even earning wife entitled to alimony after divorce: SC

"Where wife was surviving by begging, it would not amount to her ability to maintain herself. It can also be not said that the wife has been capable of earning. But she was not making any effort to earn," a Bench of Justices Arijit Pasayat and Aftab Alam, observed.

2.arreee ye kya news hai bahi log https://in.news.yahoo.com/woman-gets-alimony-28-years-divorce-20110330-050000-730.html

Singh, a former sergeant with Indian Air Force, was asked to pay alimony to Kaur by Additional Sessions Judge Rajneesh Kumar Gupta who said, "It is settled law that a divorced wife is entitled to and can claim maintenance till she remarries. Divorce does not end the right to maintenance under Section 125 of the Criminal Procedure Code."

Woman file for maintenance 3 years after divorce

Arup (UNEMPLOYED)     03 May 2011

husband get maintenance.

few months before i saw it at lci family forum.

Husband can file for "Spousal Support" under US laws. I think the duration is half of the duration of marriage. Interesting to know that husbands can seek alimony in India.