pavhep   11 March 2015

Please guide

I got married two years back it was an arranged marriage and for the first few days it was good. He's working in US and before wedding they promised that I & my husband will travel together only on that condition my father agreed for the wedding. But after making my visa they started playing mind games and stopped me from traveling with my husband.  They told my parents that After two months you will be traveling to US and they agreed but i have not gone till now. In December my in-laws asked to come to their home. So my parents took me and on 17th Dec my husband called my father and asked him to take me with all my belongings with him. When asked for the reason he didn't say anything. When my parents informed his parents didn't react. Again in dec 30 he called my parents and said the same my father asked the reason and he said his lawyer will send the notice. He came to India in April and stayed till June, but didn't come even once to meet me. When my father went thrice his mother said that I'll not be traveling to US but will stay with her. When I went they refused to take me into their home. Finally there was a discussion and in that he said he's not interested in me. After traveling to US, he started calling me and saying he loves me and all nice things. I knew he was playing and I stopped talking with him. Now I want to move out of the relationship, i've met couple of lawyers but all have turned corrupt as his elder brother is highly influential person in he's playing mind games with me. Please give me some advice. 

13 Replies

T. Kalaiselvan, Advocate (Advocate)     11 March 2015

If you have decided to quit the married life with him, you may have to look for the grounds for it, if he is agreeing for mutual consent divorce, go for it or look for better lawyer in the locality or outside who will be ready to handle your case as per law and will get you the desired relief.

Adv. Chandrasekhar (Advocate)     11 March 2015

Now I want to move out of the relationship, i've met couple of lawyers but all have turned corrupt as his elder brother is highly influential person in he's playing mind games with me.

Now, what you want out of this relationship, difficult to guess.  If you want certain monetary compensation and your brother-in-law has not given in, you have to tell.  How the lawyers became corrupt and how your BIL corrupted them is beyond my imagination.  Taking that your version is absolutely true, then you are wronged.  For this wrong, the quantity of monetary compensation may vary, according to one's perceptions and needs.  If it is monetary thing, try to negotiate with them yourself or your near relative and once an agreement reaches on that particular point, then go for mutual consent divorce.

pavhep   11 March 2015

I didn't mean to hurt anyone or a profession by the above statement. It's just that whom ever I met initially spoke in favour but later withdrew hence i made the statement. 

pavhep   11 March 2015

I want to end the relationship and I don't want any monetary benefits, I am self sufficient. When I spoke with him he's not ready for divorce and we are living separately since July 2013. I really don't know what they want from this relationship. Neither I nor my family is happy with my situation 

pavhep   11 March 2015

They have told lies before marriage, his DOB, his salary are faulted and I've proof for the same. Also when ever I was at my in laws place my health detoriated and i was admitted once for food poisoning( didn't consume outside food) and in May 2014 I had nervous breakdown. I had to take in anti depressant and anti stress tablets. I have doctor's prescripttion. Knowing I was sick, he neither called me nor visited me even though he's in India. Can u please suggest how to proceed. 

pavhep   11 March 2015

We gave 5.5 lakhs for marriage expenses but there is no proof like pics or written document. One lawyer told that I can file dowry case, but without proofs can a case be valid??

Adv k . mahesh (advocate)     11 March 2015

the only best option is mutual consent divorce and why because we dont want any one to suffer in the courts for long time even though both are agreeing then only we suggest mutual consent and if you file for divorce then it may take some years and you alone has to run and he will be enjoying in the us 

think for your self and act accordingly 

Adv. Chandrasekhar (Advocate)     11 March 2015

If they are ready for mutual consent divorce, go for it.  If they are not willing even to talk about this, there is no option for you except to file divorce petition on the ground of desertion and cruelty and other available grounds.  This petition allows you to have mediation before the mediator and judge and there you can express your desire that without expecting any monetary benefit you would like to have divorce.  If they agree (they would certainly agree) o.k. otherwise contest the case.  In respect of recovery of amount you gave for marriage expenses, a dowry case lies. If you file such case, that will put your husband and his family on extra pressure to give you divorce.  So, try that.  All the advocates are not corrupt.  You try to find out who is reliable and will not be influenced by your BIL or his political connections and you get what you want.

pavhep   11 March 2015

Thank you for the suggestion, on further investigation, someone suggested to file complaint under section420 on BIL as he committed in front of everyone that we both will be traveling together(witnesses present) and on husband and his family that they got me married by producing fake DOB & salary and on desertion . How valid is this can anyone explain more in detail please.

SuperHero (Manager)     11 March 2015

I don't understand Why your Husband married first of all?

Is Marriage a Child's play?

Sorry OP. Wish You Good Luck!!!

pavhep   11 March 2015

I wish I could answer ur question, well I just want to be out of this nightmare and move on. if u can suggest any way, I'd be more greatful. 

SuperHero (Manager)     11 March 2015

I am sorry OP. All the learned advocates have given there advise.

It takes two for a tango. For a divorce too both has to sign then only divorce is Successful.

File the cases accordingly then they might come for MCD. 

pavhep   12 March 2015

My parents tell that they are doing this to take property that is in my name, and it's worth a fortune, but they have not openly said the reason even after asking so many times. So we clearly don't know the reason for their odd behavior. Some say he might be having an affair in USA and married me for the sake of elders,  the point is we are not able to prove anything as we don't have any evidence. I'm the victim in this situation and I've taken enough and now I want to move out