Anonymus (Student)     13 July 2024

My family is harassing from years please help๐Ÿ™

Iam 29 Female( completed my graduation in 2016),  my family consists of 5 members , father, mother, 2 elder brothers, iam the youngest in the family. Till 2014 eveything was fine,  in 2015 my first elder brother (eldest of three among us ) started harrasing me s*xually , me being a minor , i have informed this to my parents (both mother &father & 2nd elder brother )  as my graduation was still 1 year left , they made some drama, and they strictly warned me to not to tel this anyone as it will spoil their reputation and prestige in society and relatives and all , me being being just 19 yrs old , i obeyed their words, then they shouted on my brother , he ran away from house and came back after one day , for few days he was quiet, later on started s*xually harassing again, this time my parents decision was to get my marriage done as soon as my graduation completes and send me out of the house. fortunately i fought for with them and stopped making my marriage forcefully , this s*xual harasment by my brother continued til 2023. i warned him many times , i could not tell my parents all these years coz , the only solution they find is to make my marriage forcefully. i have started working for startup from 2017 , from then i had frw career gaps cuz of mrg pressure by my family, they never let me work peacefully yet took all the salary forcefully from me , i worked till april 2022 in ofc  and took WFH   . Finally in may 2022, my parents took away my mobile, laptop and broke them both , also they took away the little amount i had left with,  AND my parents forcefully fixed my mrg with a random guy without my consent , they did not listen to me though i said he doesnt have job, even when i cried they dint care me,  after few days of  mrg fixing , the groom parents came saying , the groom has ran away blah blah , so eventually the match has been broken yet all the arrangements were made for the mrg, groom family has given some amount on my name to deposit as they spoiled my matchmaking process , and also we ve spent amount on all arangements for mrg , finally dispute is settled between two families. The amount given by guy family, my father deposited it as FD in his accnt on his name , saying he will use that for mrg etc. I kept quite. Though the match was broken by guy family, my family has abused me physically mentally for many days. And again my eldest brother came back from banglore, who was in bnglre from all these days, as soon as he came back , he started harassing me mentally physically either way,  i had to shut my mouth else i will get married forcefully to someone. (only reason he came back hyderabad is for stealing money given by the groom family to me)  i have bought mobile & laptop with my own money again, and worked in WFH till dec 2022 wich was given by my ofc . later on my family dint allow me to go to ofc. and the thing whatever the amount is given by the groom family , my father and eldest brother withdrwan half of the amount from it and used it for elder brother Job and downpayment for Car on his name . he is all settled now with good job and Luxurious car on his name . I kept quite all these days, they(whole family) dint let me go out nor let me do job, they literally dont let me do anything,  again they brought a random match and forced to fix , this time i simply ran away to  girls hostel to my frnd stayed there for 1 day , yet my family tortured me whole day to come back home . and played all emotional drama , so i came back , for few days they kept quiet , this b*st*rd( elder brother ) started looking for alliance for himself , As he os aware that still half of the amount is remaining in FD ( amount given by groom family) ,  he started drama to buy a new house on his name , eventually , after all drama in April 2024 without my knowledge nor my permission ,my elder brother and my father has withdrawn remaining amount from FD and used it up for downpayment of house. now the house is also under name of my brother & he got married . he is all settled with job , car and house with the money came by spoiling my marriage. Now he is all set to just leave the house along with his wife. so now im left like this , my parents &whole family has spoiled my career & personal life both intentionally . now if i raise my voice about the money they physically, verbally  abuse me , ALL THE HELP I NEED IS,  first and foremost i want stay away from them pls guide me legally ๐Ÿ™ second one is i DEFINITELY need all the amount back on my name & account ( money given by groom family on my name ) . Also , i need legal help so that my family cannot force me to get me married against my will, i want to settle in my career first . NOTE : I have my marriage fixing photos, the groom and groom parents  contacts , the dates on which my brother & father withdrwan money and  persons whom did they transfer the money , Also photos of each and every wound i had when they beat me, my brother kicked me in my stomach when iam on my periods, my father hit my back ,  my broken mobile (which my parents broke) i have proof of everything A to Z . (only thing is my parents simply say we dint take any money , what money , which money , where money ??? )  I might sound money minded , but yes i have become like that bcz , they all took away my salary too ( which i have proofs again from past 4+ years) . ALL they think is , i should be dependant on them and be a slave , which i dont want  to  entertain anymore. PLS GUIDE ME LEGALLY, I NEED JUSTICE๐Ÿ™๐Ÿ™๐Ÿ™๐Ÿ™ if you ask why did i bear all these  along these years , they threatened me that if i tell anything outside they shall die , its just a black mail. Yet , i really made a suicide attempt , still the harrasement and abuse never stopped๐Ÿฅฒ SAVE ME๐Ÿ™๐Ÿ™

T. Kalaiselvan, Advocate (Advocate)     13 July 2024

You are an educated girl with a handsome job and salary hence you are financially independent too, therefore you cannot claim innnocence or fear about them.

You always had reasons to give a complaint against your brother for his s*xual abuses against you and also against your parents for threatening you and physically assaulting you etc. 

Even now you are not prevented from approaching the law enfiorcing agency or the local police with a neatly drafted complaint by expressing all those cruel incidents unleashed against you and initiate proper legal action without hesitating anymore.

Rama chary Rachakonda (Secunderabad/Telangana state Highcourt practice watsapp no.9989324294 )     13 July 2024

If you or someone you know is facing s*xual harassment by a family member, including a brother, it's essential to: 1. _Believe and support_: Believe the survivor and offer emotional support. 2. _Listen without judgment_: Create a safe space for them to share their experience without fear of judgment. 3. _Encourage disclosure_: Encourage them to share the details of the harassment. 4. _Report to authorities_: Help them report the incident to local authorities or law enforcement. 5. _Seek professional help_: Suggest seeking professional help from a therapist, counselor, or support group. 6. _Document evidence_: Encourage them to document any evidence, such as messages, photos, or witness statements. 7. _Seek legal advice_: Consider seeking legal advice or consulting a lawyer specializing in s*xual harassment cases. 8. _Support their decisions_: Respect their decisions regarding legal action, therapy, or other support. Remember, s*xual harassment by a family member can be especially challenging. Prioritize the survivor's well-being and safety above all. Additional resources: - National Sexual Assault Hotline (1-800-656-HOPE and online.rainn.org y en español) - National Domestic Violence Hotline (1-800-799-SAFE and thehotline.org) - Local support groups and counseling services

Thank you so much for your kind reply sir, Yet kindly please let me know what action can be be taken against my family ?  

i need 2 resolutions sir,

i) I want to stay in a hostel and settle down my career first 

ii) I want my family to deposit the amount given by the groom family on my name. 

IAM asking this particularly about money , bcz at present i am unemployed , and it takes me little time to settle down this issue and find out job . and my family they do have money , yet they intentionally did this with me , all of them are well n good with assets, gold , savings , even my father & 2 bros , each of them own a luxurious cars on their name , Here the only person that left without a penny and without a job is my self , today my situation is like this cuz of my family ๐Ÿ™i am not financially independant , if i had job i wud nt hav worried , plus sir pls let me know , can a family do this ? is it legal ?  to spoil a girl's life and take money from groom's family on my name and use it for their luxuries and enjoy and threaten me ?? Should i file theft or cheating case on family , should i approach police station directly , pls  reply Kindly ๐Ÿ™๐Ÿ™๐Ÿ™ 

T. Kalaiselvan, Advocate (Advocate)     13 July 2024

You cannot claim the money given by groom side as a right, because it was not given to you and also if they come and demand it is your parents who have to anser and not you because you never received anything.

If the situation is comfortable and it is no more tolerable then you can better shift to some ladies hostel and look for some employment based on your qualification and experience.

Sir, one small thing i forgot to mention in my query, dispute came to settlement once the groom family has agreed to give the amount. groom family went off and came back after 10 days and gave the money.   while handing over the amount ,  groom family that is groom's father was very PARTICULAR and particularly said to my family members that , unfortunately this has happened, i never thought my son would do this, whatever the amount we agreed to give and we are giving , it must & should be used  for girl marriage only , Kindly any one of you  do not touch even a rupee from it . he said it politely and then said that , iam just giving this , as if she is like my daughter, as i do not have a daughter, also pls do make her marriage  with some good guy , i request you all to invite for wedding too , these are the words said by him , but here what family did is completely against it๐Ÿ™ Sir my main concern is they just wanna make money out of me no matter what the means is, if  i work and give salry that's fine, if my marriage gets spoiled and they get money thats fine , this is what is so hurting for me , even if i dont get the money back iam fine with it sir, i want to showcase and prove this to police officer and how they treated all these years for sake of money . so the reason i want file a case sir , kindly respond sir๐Ÿ™๐Ÿ™๐Ÿ™, heartfelt  thanks for your kind replies sir, i owe you๐Ÿ™

T. Kalaiselvan, Advocate (Advocate)     14 July 2024

You can add this also as one among the reasons for their acts of cruelty against you in your complaint in order to strengthen your complaint.

Anonymus (Student)     14 July 2024

Sure sir, Thank you so much for your kind response sir.