Shiva (Government Servant)     19 May 2024

Technical resignation - counting of past service as minimum qualifying service for promotionn

Sir/Madam,

1) I served as Stenographer (Level-4 of Pay Matrix) in Central Secretariat Stenographer Service (CSSS) recruited through Staff Selection Commission (SSC) for 5 years.

2) Later, I joined as Stenographer (Same grade i.e. Level-4 of Pay Matrix) in Indian Audit and Accounts Department under C&AG after tendering my Technical Resignation through proper channel in my erstwhile department.

3) The benefit of Pay Protection, Carry forward of Leaves, LTC was extended to me under Technical Resignation.

4) The recruitment rules in the new Department mention that promotion to the next grade as "Stenographer in Level-4 in the pay Matrix with ten years regular service in the grade".

Will my past service as Stenographer in same grade in CSSS be considered as minimum qualifying service for promotion? Kindly enlighten me.

T. Kalaiselvan, Advocate (Advocate)     19 May 2024

in case of a Government servant deciding to rejoin his substantive post, the period spent in another department which he had joined after submitting his technical resignation will not count for minimum qualifying service for promotion in the higher post.

However if the employee is on lien period then any promotion..., upgradation etc. if granted, during the period of lien, the employees will continue to have the benefit of such promotions/upgradations.

Shiva (Government Servant)     19 May 2024

Hello Kalaiselvan Sir. Thank you for the reply. My question is whether my past service be considered for promotion in new department since the recruitment rules specify that ten years of regular service in the grade is required for promotion.

T. Kalaiselvan, Advocate (Advocate)     20 May 2024

On the basis of technical resignation the seniority in the post held by the government servant on substantive basis continues to be protected.

However in case of a Government servant deciding to rejoin his substantive post, the period spent in another department which he had joined after submitting his technical resignation will not count for minimum qualifying service for promotion in the higher post.

You may refer to the master circular passed by  DOPT in OM No. 28020/2/2018/Estts.(C) dated 27th Aug 2018 for more clarifications. 

Dr. J C Vashista (Advocate )     20 May 2024

Since your appointment with CSSS was not substantive but it is stated to be for short service of 5 years, which shall not count for minimum qualifying service for promotion with the new department of Indian Audit & Accounts under CAG.