suman   19 July 2008 at 15:14

sec 77 b of companies act 1956

why in sec 77 b of companies act a subsidiary co cannot buy the shares and other subsidiary co is also not allowed to buy the shares of the holding co.

P.Balasubramaniam   19 July 2008 at 14:21

Draft Sale Deed under SARFAESI Act

Dear Friends,

Please send me the draft sale deed under SARFAESI Act to be executed by the Authorised Officer of the Bank in favour of the auction purchaser for the immovable properties

sagar madan   19 July 2008 at 14:07

bombay stamp act

what is the stamp duty payable under bombay stamp act for agreement of joint venture with foreign comanies for technical assitance and for FDI contirbution in mumbai in India? Do also inform the relevant article of schedule I of bombay stamp act act under which such agreements are covered?

Sunanda A V   19 July 2008 at 13:33

Online Jobs in Law

I am looking for online jobs in Legal field.I have 2 and 1/2 Years of experience in Civil Law Practise.My academics is LLM.,PGDHRM.
Kindly guide me on the same.

K P Sendil Kumar   19 July 2008 at 12:12

Related to bank operations

My father is a senior citizen aged about 80 years. His pension account is held at SBI in Dindigul – Main branch. Due to his health conditions, presently he is staying with me in Chennai.

He was in need of a DD to close a Jewel Lone availed by my diseased mother. As he is staying in Chennai, I called SBI help line 1800-180-1290 to check whether it is possible to draw a DD at a non-home location with a withdrawal slip. The executive who answered my call replied that it is possible to draw a DD at a non-home location through withdrawal slip subject to a maximum of Rs.50,000/- per day.

Based on the information, we (I and my father) approached SBI’s Mylapore, Chennai branch and forwarded a DD request form along with a withdrawal slip for Rs.44,000/-. The employee at the counter informed us that it is not possible to issue DD at non-bank branch through withdrawal slip and insisted on a cheque. As my father has not opted for an account with cheque operation, he did not have any cheque with him. I informed the same to the clerk and she referred me to the Branch Manager who told me the same. I requested him to give it in writing and he refused to do so.

Hence, I approached the Assistant General Manager who was available in the branch and insisted on giving the reason for turning down my request, in writing. Then she referred me to the BM, and finally the BM gave in writing that "withdrawal not permitted at non-home location with withdrawal slip." In the note, he had added another reason as “passbook not given.” When I told him that he never asked for the passbook and shown my father’s passbook to him. Then he struck-off the second reason, counter signed the note and gave it back to me.

At this juncture, I would like to know whether it is possible or not, to draw a DD, for a sum of Rs.44,000/-, at a non-home branch – Mylapore, Chennai – through a withdrawal slip in SBI.

I also asked them for any other possibility of drawing a DD and was told that none available.

Amit   19 July 2008 at 11:55

Can a pvt. ltd not being registered as a financial institution shall lies interest or give finance facility

A private limited, mainly in sales of hardware and software products. The company whether not being registered as a financial institution grants credit facility by way of deffered payment in monthly installment basis, which includes interest on the balance consideration amount. Whether the company can do such kind of thinks? and What legal consequences may be arised thereof?

Anil Kumar kamboj Delhi M-9650   19 July 2008 at 11:40

guidence for service on basis of ll.m

Using Few / Little in English
We use a few and a little to mean "not very much" or "not very many". Whether you use a few or a little depends on what type of noun you are describing.

For example, "A few people came to the party." We use a few with plural, countable nouns.

"There's a little coffee left, if you would like some." We use a little with uncountable nouns.

We can also use few and little (without "a") for a more negative meaning. For example, "there's little point in calling" (= there's not much point calling).

"Few people understand" (not many people understand), compared to "a few people understand" (some people understand).

In spoken English, we can also say not many, or only a few to mean "few" and "only a little" or "not much" to mean "little".

When we make comparisons, we use fewer for plural nouns and less for uncountable nouns.
For example, "There are fewer people here than last year" or "he drinks less coffee than I do".

NEXT >> Using Lots of

<< Grammar and Tenses

The english-at-home.com website is free of charge." (no money needed)
"Children can play freely in this park." (no limits to their freedom)

How to use the present perfect tenses in English
When do you use the Past Simple ("I did") and the Present Perfect ("I have done")?

The tense you choose depends on how you consider the event. Is it finished, or is there still a connection to the present?

If you use the Past Simple ("I did"), you consider the event or events as finished and in the past. This tense is often used with a time reference: last year, last week, in 1991, this morning (if it's now the afternoon) and so on.

With the Present Perfect ("I have done"), there is a connection to the present.

For example, "I have lived here for five years." (I still live here.)

Uses of the Present Perfect

When the past affects the present

"I've lost my wallet."
This means that you have lost your wallet (sometime in the past, but we don't know when), but what is really important is that you don't have it now, at the time of speaking.

If instead, you say "I lost my wallet", people understand that you lost it, but not that it affects the present. They expect you to tell them about the time that you lost the wallet.

We use the Present Perfect tense to show that something has a result or a connection to now. This means that it's used to give news.

"The Euro slips!"
(headline)

"The Euro has slipped against the pound again."
(news report)

"My sister has had a baby." (announcing news)

Experiences

Your experiences make you the person you are now. We don't use dates and times to give information on what makes you this person.

"I've been to New Zealand." (I know something about New Zealand.)

We often ask questions about people's experiences with ever. For example, "Have you ever been white-water rafting?"

States or activities that started in the past, which have continued up to now and will probably continue into the future.

"I have worked here for five years."

"I have lived here since 1994."

Use since to give the date that an activity or state started and use for to give the period of time the activity or state has lasted.

Recent past

"Have you finished yet?"

"I've already written the report." (Here it is.)

In these type of examples, we often use yet, already still, just and recently.

Note: American English uses the Past Simple instead of the Present Perfect in these examples. For instance, "Did you eat yet?"

Using both tenses in a conversation

"Have you travelled much?"

"Yes, I've been to the USA."

"Oh really? When did you go?"

The first question and the reply concern a person's experience, so they use the Present Perfect. But the second question asks for more information about the experience. Because it refers to a past time (when the person went to the USA), the Past Simple is used.

The conversation could continue:

"Oh really?

T Nageswar Rao   19 July 2008 at 09:40

Purchase of Property in India by a Foreigner

Dear all, Please let me know the procedure of purchasing a property in India by a Nepali citizen and/or other nation.As per FEMA, RBI's prior permission is necessary,and let me know if any other law / book is need to be referred.
Place: Want to purchase property in Bangalore/Karnataka

KamalNayanSaxena   19 July 2008 at 01:10

Bread and butter of a workman

What is the immidiate remedy in sence of bread and butter of a workman after retrenchment and before sanction by appropriate Govt.

lawyers friend   19 July 2008 at 00:16

ADVICE/GUIDANCE TO FILE "PUBLIC INTEREST LITIGATION

HI,

I NEED SOME ADVICE/GUIDANCE TO FILE "PUBLIC INTEREST LITIGATION" IN Supreme Court OF INDIA.

I WANT TO FILE A PIL FOR SAVE ALL CREDIT CARD,PERSONAL LOAN HOLDER FROM VARIOUS BANKS.BANKS FILE CRIMINAL CASES ON THEIR SO CALLED DEFAULTER "NOT ABLE TO PAY THEIR DUES ON TIME ANY REASON" AS TOOL OF THREATEN THEM FOR RECOVERY OF MONEY AND USE THEIR MONEY AND POWER TO GET NBW IN FIRST INSTANCE AGAINST THERE DEFAULTER AND THIRTEEN THEM MAKE MONEY PAYMENT OR OTHERWISE GO JAIL.THEY FILES CASE U/S 406,420,407.......IN MANY CASES AND MOST TIME THEY FILE CASES FROM SO FAR FROM PERSON LIVED AND ITS ONLY FOR PERSONAE MAKING DEFAULT TO DEFEND THERE SELF AND MAKE PAYMENT ON BANKS TERM AND CONDITION.SO CAN I FILE "PIL" TO STOP ALL THIS KIND OF CRIMINAL CASES FROM BANKS TO THERE SO CALLED DEFAULTERS.....AS RECOVERY OF MONEY IS A CIVIL MATTER NOT A CRIMINAL ONE.

PLEASE ADVICE ME,HOW CAN I PROSES FOR THIS...ANY CHARGE I NEED TO PAY.