Forced to marry
Aarti
(Querist) 17 February 2015
My brother is being forced to marry a girl. They were office colleagues. Being in the same office they fell in love. Their relation was a consensual physical relation where it was clearly mentioned by my brother that it would not culminate into marriage.
Time and again they broke up n patched up due to the same reason which lasted on -off for 13 months.
Somewhere in between the girl started to press for marriage which was declined time and again by my brother. Due to which she started harassing my brother that she has become pregnant. We asked her to come to the gyenac for a 2nd opinion but she has not obliged.
Again the said relation hit the rocks.. and there has been no communication from my brother to her in last 1 and a half months. Due to no communication towards her the girl has filed a FIR against my brother under Sec 376,323,506. There is no mention of pregnancy in the FIR.
The cops have yet not come to pick up my brother. this was done on 12th Feb. We in the meantime got a whiff of the same and have filed for AB for which we got 2 day interim relief which was finally rejected yesterday.
We have chats proving that my brother has initially told her that he would not marry.
Due to all this my brother has no more feelings for her.She is a stubborn girl and only wants marriage. we have time and again tried to explain to her that there is no love from his side and it was mutually agreed there would be no marriage.
Now due to all this pressure we are stressed..
Could you plz guide what should we do.
Should he compromise n get married to her?
If he decides to marry under duress.... how fast can he divorce her??
Kindly please guide asap...
God Bless
ajay sethi
(Expert) 17 February 2015
it was consensual relation ship no promise of marriage has been made . no case of rape is made out . dont bow down to black mail tactics . contest case filed by girl on merits .
Rajendra K Goyal
(Expert) 17 February 2015
Engage some senior local lawyer and defend on merits of the case.
Devajyoti Barman
(Expert) 18 February 2015
Marriage can not survive if the same is done under force and cercion. If he is indeed ready then only he should marry the girl, else not.
The criminal case has no future. So do not worry much about this.
P. Venu
Your brother had been irresponsible. He has to face the allegations on merit.
malipeddi jaggarao
They fell in love. They are colleagues in the same office. They have consensual physical relation.
Who is such a girl who agrees for consensual physical relation with a promise of marriage? You are not giving full facts.
One way you wish to rescue your brother from marriage, the other way, you asking how speedily he can get a divorce if he is forced to marry.
It is a good story for a movie. Come out with full facts.
T. Kalaiselvan, Advocate
(Expert) 20 February 2015
You may answer the queries raised by expert Mr. Malipeddi Jagga Rao. This does not appears to be a genuine query.
V R SHROFF
complain to police ; she is black mailing and forcing ur brother to marry.
ur brother may issue notice to her, that he do not want to marry her, under all circumstances, and do not force / or lodge false cri complaints.
DON'T MARRY UNDER FORCE.
V R SHROFF
LET ALL WOMAN ORGANIZATION KNOW, HOW GIRL USE SEX TO FORCE SOMEONE TO MARRY!!!
do such girls deserve sympathy from Society?? why they go for sex before marriage, and take advantage of their own wrong+ false allegation of pregnancy. a height of shamelessness!!!!!!
where is good moral character?? justice??
I remember a query, where a widow with child did the same to force a bachelor, younger boy from her office to marry her, against the wish of his parents !!!

Ms. Aarti,
Moral turpitude always result in to negative consequences.
Being a woman, at least you could have avoided posting such a question on this site favouring your brother for her tainted past.
Any help is subject to examination of the contents of the petition. So, you may better consult a local advocate for practical help, if any he can render after going through the petition and the facts to be explained by your brother, rather than seeking theoretical help on this page.