Addition of spouse's name in freehold property
sheela
(Querist) 30 January 2017
If it is not much of inconvenience, kindly guide me on how can a member of a cooperative group housing society in Delhi who has got his flat converted into freehold from DDA,get the name of his spouse added in conveyance deed and in the records of the society.
rajeev sharma
(Expert) 31 January 2017
Apply to the authority executing the conveyance deed for adding the name . If their rules permit name of the spouse may be added
Rajendra K Goyal
(Expert) 31 January 2017
Whether in the conveyance deed her name is there?
Contact DDA to add her name, if no such Rule exist, you can gift some part of it in her name and apply to society to add her name.
P. Venu
(Expert) 31 January 2017
The holder can gift part of the property to the spouse.
sheela
(Querist) 31 January 2017
Thanks a lot to you all experts for your prompt responses. I am truly obliged.
Dr J C Vashista
(Expert) 02 February 2017
It can not be added in Conveyance Deed, which has already been executed by DDA in favour of allottee/purchaser but not spouse, who is neither member of society nor purchaser of property through allotment/GPA.
Now the property is Freehold, the titleholder/owner may gift/sell part of property, which is not advisable.
sheela
(Querist) 02 February 2017
Dr. sahib can you elaborate please why gifting/selling part of property is not advisable
Rajendra K Goyal
(Expert) 02 February 2017
It may attracts stamp fee and registration fee.
There are other method like will which may prove better option.