Private temple in residential area in goa
lokesh
(Querist) 28 June 2018
This query is : Open
I am planning to build a temple on my own property in Residential Area of Goa. I have few questions
1> Being it's on my private property it would be open for the public to visit and eat (probable canteen by pandit not sure if Gaushala is permitted in that area ) should i have to create Trust and which as I don't want, other to intervene in it beside my children and their future generation. There has been the case in Goa that family were thrown from the trust and property built by there great Grandparents.
2> If i have to build trust can i have my own house to stay there
3> Planning for stay facility for outsiders like me to stay in Goa as even i am not a Local from goa and have to stay in Some relatives place.
4> Someone told that you have to take few forms like 80G form for exemption from tax u/s 11 and such forms are costly which can range to lakhs each and for this form you require 3 non blood relation members as Trustee (Just had a doubt about it as his close relative is Trustee of few Temples ).
5> In Private temple(WIth no trust or Trust where all trustee are blood-relation members ) can i ask for a donation or can i ask pandit to perform pooja for outsiders in my temple
I have not moved to any lawyer first i thought i should get some information from Forum
rajeev sharma
(Expert) 29 June 2018
1. There is no compulsion of creating trust . if you create trust the property will have to be transferred to trust otherwise It will be your private temple and you may allow general public to offer prayers at certain time or days.The property ill be governed by your personal law and will be succeeded by your children and grand
children.Your question no2 &3 already stand replied. Sec 80G I.T. Act is a certificate which says that any donation to your temple will entitle the doner to claim deduction in income tax.A private trust may not get that certificate easily. For this purpose you will have to make a public cheritable trust and will have to transfer property to that .trust. Just open an account in the name of the temple deposit all the donations in that account and use that for the purpose temple. you may take donations in the name of temple in that account but those donations will not entitle the donor any exemption in income tax
lokesh
(Querist) 02 July 2018
Thx sir for your valuable comments.
So it would be like the normal temple only thing that, donation provided would not be exempted to the donor, not to temple people.
krishna mohan
(Expert) 04 July 2018
I agree with the opinion of Mr.Rajeev Sharma. You are right. If you are looking for big donation to develop and construct you may better consult a lawyer specialized on property and trust matters to guide you correctly and if necessary CA on tax matters on the temple revenue.
lokesh
(Querist) 05 July 2018
I hope u mean donation more than 10000 rs per person as big donation. No we won't be accepting that much.
I am not accepting any donation for development and construction of temple. But in case if someone gives an amount for pooja or for buying some products of pooja or gave money for temple moorti . can we keep that or we should deny that money same goes for daan peti. Ya , i am going to consult CA and lawyer but still waiting to know legal terms and issues before construction of Religious Institute as don't want to get stuck in future.