I have booked a flat in Oct 2009, where builder has launched scheme in July 2008 in Pune. I have paid Rs. 4.41 lakhs by cheque and had agreement with builder in Feb 2011. In between builder shifted me from 1.5 BHK to 1 BHK as there was dispute between builder and PWD department to sanction that particular wing. It is a scheme of around 150 to 170 flats. Builder has not mentioned completion date on my agreement but he had mentioned the date on some of the clients in our building. After agreement I paid Rs. 12 lakhs to builder through bank (home loan), so other clients also did the same. He then did completed the structure of the wing which was in dispute with PWD and stopped doing any further work since then. Now it's a time of 01 year, there is no work has been done. On several meetings with builder by most of the clients, he always says that I have spent all the money and I don't have the fund to complete the work. Everyone has almost paid 80 % of the flat cost to him. He had also promised so many amenities to us but not even able to complete the building work.
What can be done in this case.? Some of the clients have already approched consumer court. Within what time I should approach consumer court to file a case against him. I am paying home loan EMI and I am not getting HRA from employer as I am staying in govt accommodation, so there is big financial problem for me.
What builder could do in this case? what if he dosen't complete the work and what would happen with all flat owners. If consumer court gives fair judgement to flat owners, whether builder would complete the project and pay interest to flat owners, till his completion of work?
Please guide me.