Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Umesh Pathak (Owner)     19 September 2013

Can builders charge for parking space & open to sky balcony

Dear All,

Could you plz advise if the builder can charge a flat buyer- basement parking space & open to sky balcony area ?

There was some ruling of supreme court that the builder can't charge for it. Plz  let me know so that I can confront my Builder accordingly.

Learning

2 Replies

Aritra Show (Student)     07 October 2013

No not at all. Though I am not a lawyer but, I am telling this on the basis of the following article:

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/city/mumbai/Cant-charge-flat-buyer-extra-for-parking-slot/articleshow/22475233.cms

There is a judgement delivered by the hon'ble Supreme court, in which it was clearly stated that " a developer can only sell a flat and has no right to sell a parking space".

Dr. MPS RAMANI Ph.D.[Tech.] (Scientist/Engineer)     18 October 2013

It is unfortunate that courts are taking upon themselves, what are the prerogatives of the legislatures. A lower court's order can be overturned by a higher court. The judgment of the Supreme Court can be negated by a later judgement perhaps by another bench of the same Supreme Court. For instance if parking space cannot be sold, why not the legislatures make laws for that, instead of judges making laws according to their own "judgment".