GOKULDAS KAMATH (EX BANKER)     16 September 2013

Power of attorney

Respected Sir,

My brother in law has 3 sisters and 3  younger brothers.There was a disputed land in my father in law's name which was encroached by a Bar owner on which he had filed a civil case after obtaining the power of attorney from his mother and 3 sisters and 3 brothers.Father in law died in 2002.P/A is only authorising him to file a suit to get the possession of land  on their behalf.He won the case.Subsequently,defendents have filed appeal in the high court of Karnataka which is still at hearing stage

In the mean time,my brother obtained power of attorney  once again from his mother,2 sisters and 3 brothers authorising him to sell the land n question.One sister's signature was forged as she stays far away from Bangalore.Disputed land is at other place in Karnataka state.As it was a prime land in a prime locality,a real estate owner has purchased this land for Rs.1.00 crore along with suit.But,my brother in law has not shared the sales proceeds of this land in a fair and legal manner and not disclosed the amount of sale proceeds.There appears to be some manipulations and cheating.

Both the Power of attorney's were  notarised without the presence of 3 sisters and 3 brothers and his mother. before the notary..Normally,P/A documents is to be signed before a notary and also NOTARY OBTAINS A SIGNATURE OF EXECUTANTS IN HIS REGISTER .Photo of each legal heir was given to my brother in law with thier signatures on photo.It was subsequently pasted on P/A papers (I mean to say that it was not signed across on P/A before Notary.

Kindly let me know whether the above 6 Power of attorney ( 1 signature forged) are valid documents due to above mentioned irregularities i.e;

1. It was not signed before a Notary

2.It was notarised in a different place which is far away from Bangalore

3. Not signed across photo( Signed inside the photo and pasted subsequently on P/A

4. Executants were at different cities when the P/A was notarised

5.1 P/A bears forged signatures

Kindly guide me

0 Replies