nikhil (farmer)     06 October 2013

Wife claim on property

i am living in lucknow. My wife and i are not living together for last 10 years. we were not in contact of any kind with each other in the due time. now out of sudden she is claiming on my property.

What to do ???

please help...

Sarvesh Kumar Sharma Advocate (Advocacy)     06 October 2013

She is your and she can claim,

Sarvesh Kumar Sharma Advocate (Advocacy)     06 October 2013

She is your wife and she got a right to claim in your property

Rama chary Rachakonda (Secunderabad/Telangana state Highcourt practice watsapp no.9989324294 )     06 October 2013

Mr.Nikhil,

Under the Family Law Act, a person has a responsibility to financially assist their spouse or former de facto partner, if that person cannot meet their own reasonable expenses from their personal income or assets.

Where the need exists, both parties have an equal duty to support and maintain each other as far as they can. This obligation can continue even after separation and divorce. The extent of the support depends on what the other party can afford to pay.

Nadeem Qureshi (Advocate/ nadeemqureshi1@gmail.com)     06 October 2013

Dear Querist

she can not claim any property till her joint name is not mention in the property, if the property is your own then she is not entitled.

she can claim only maintenance from you if she is unable to maintain herself

Feel Free to Call

Samir N (General Queries) (Business)     06 October 2013

She cannot claim property directly unless she had contributed to its purchase. After 10 years separation, several claims would be barred by limitation and other related defences. Bhai, tension nahi lena. Kuch nahi milega usko! Just be careful of advocates. Give details on the basis for the claim on property and may be I can shed some light on the type of defences you can provide. 

In the mean time, in the ten years, I hope you had some fun! If not, its never too late. Enjoy!!

I completely disagree with Sarvesh jii ,

So,far no law is there to claim on husban'd property by wife until or unless the matter has not turned into such situation where husband has not paid arrear's of maintenance and absconded or simply refused to obey court's order in that case his asset's are seized to recover the amount on the failure of if any.