h s   11 May 2016

Wife share from ancestoral property of husband

i ve filed FIR u/s 498a,313,406 against my husband and in laws and are on AB.they want one time settlement.what is my legal rights,how should we negotiate.as they have ruined my life with only four months marriage life.He has ancestoral agri land and resi house ,not in his name yet, we both not employed.he has three married sisters and parents .pls guide

Vijay Raj Mahajan (Advocate)     11 May 2016

You'll get nothing if the FIR is dismissed and your husband get acquittal order from the court. And let me tell you very frankly if you have no evidence for the charges you allege on him, his getting free is very bright. Rather after getting acquitted by court he gets bright chance of getting divorce from you. As far maintenance and alimony part if you are working and have sufficient means to maintain your self, you'll get not much from court. This is sad reality not told you by your lawyer or legal advisors.

h s   12 May 2016

Thanx Mahajan Sir for quick response, They are asking for one time settlement by taking the expenses incurred by us on marriage(about 15 lac).my friend told that i ve rights on his ancestoral agri land & resi house also which is not on his name yet & has three married sisters.What r my options.

His AB was rejected by Sessions & got conditional AB from HC.