Ashwin Jain   25 May 2009 at 23:11

Service Tax on Lawyers

Hello all,
One thing which I know is that no service tax is leviable on service renders by Lawyers.
But please anyone explain me the reason for such provisions as they also provide service.
Please give me reason in detail

Thank you

DebUPindia   25 May 2009 at 23:04

Suit for Partition

As per conveyance deed, the property (residential flat) is in the name of my demised mother, who had source of income. I am staying with my family in the said property peacefully and under possession. My elder brother instigated father to file a suit for partition. The case is underway as they became plaintiff/Second defendant (supported father) and I am sole defendant. All amicable solution has failed inside or outside the court. The plaintiff statement reads extremely harsh, trying to spoil my career and trying to win because of being senior citizen. My question, what are my options to retain the property against selling/auctioning in open market. How strong oral WILL affidavit is will play to save the case. Is there any other ways to save the case or defend well.

Thank you,

MC Sachdev   25 May 2009 at 21:51

property law and inheretance

A childless widow passes away. Prior to her husband's death his mother i.e. her widow mother-in-law used to reside with them ,and after her husband's death such circumstances were created as a result of which her mother-in-law had to move out and she moved in her widower father. The flat they were staying-in was purchased by the deceased husband and she, where-in two small studio apartments were merged into one flat.Each of these studio apartments were individually purchased by the husband and the wife respectively, the husband also utilised his brother's funds for purchasing the said merged flat. the husband's death took place about a decade back and like a true indian the husband's family did not interfere in affairs. Now after the lady's death her paternal family has taken over her entire property and other assests saying that she has made a Will in her father's favour , they are not communicating and are not showing the Will. Could the widow have willed her husband' property and assests entirely to her parents . What should the old mother-in-law do and also the husband's brother do who had helped to purchase the two studio apartments which were merged into one flat. Can anyone take up the case , the said property is in Mumbai and the widowed mother-in-law are residing at Pune

R.RAJENDRAN   25 May 2009 at 16:12

Daughter's share of house property

My mother is 75 years old and my father is 84 years old. My mother has ancestral property(a house worthy of Rs. 60 lakhs in her name).My mother has 3 sons and 3 daughters and they are all married during 1979-1986.Can my mother write a will allotting more share of the house(share of the sales value of the house after her death) to her sons and less share of the house to her daughters?

MRS. Sumi Raj

AVINASH SINGH   25 May 2009 at 16:01

qualification for appearing in judicial service

sir, kindly let me know the name of the states where registration with bar council is not compulsory for appearing in the judicial service exam of the respective states.kindly reply as its very urgent

PRACHI   25 May 2009 at 15:01

Power of Attorney

Hi All
Could you please tell me the points to be covered in the power of attorney?
we need a POA to appoint a person to sign a stay application to be filed in the Court.That person is not an employee of our company.

Prachi

byomjeet   25 May 2009 at 14:22

General Power of Attorney

How long the General Power of Attorney (GPA) is valid if no dates are mentioned in the GPA? This is regarding sale of land or building.

Maha   25 May 2009 at 14:02

MINIMUM WAGES

PLEASE PROVIDE ME THE UPDATED RATE OF MINIMUM WAGES FOR - EMPLOYMENT IN AERATED WATER MANUFACTORY

jamal   25 May 2009 at 13:25

voice samples

is court approval needed by police commossioner for taking voice samples or voice recordings of a person during enquiry.

without the f.i.r being filed can they take voice samples.

tamilarasibabu   25 May 2009 at 12:26

Patent

In the recent past, some peculiar sounds were registered one among that was yahoo sound track. In the same context, whether the smell of perfumes can be patented? if any relevant sources in the form of articles/ case law citations please forward it.