Master the Basics of Legal Drafting in All Courts. Register Now!

Certified copies of Police documents in criminal cases

Querist : Anonymous (Querist) 11 April 2010 This query is : Resolved 
Kindly enlighten me on the following questions.
1)What is the procedure to obtain the certified/attested true copies of police documents from the JMFC court?
2) Whether it should be applied through advocate only? or we the common men can apply for it, if required ?
N RAMESH. (Expert) 11 April 2010
File a copy application asking for certified copies of FIR. ( you can only get those document which are available in court and not with the police)

A party to that proceeding can apply directly if he knows the procedures.

Third party can not file copy application.
N RAMESH. (Expert) 11 April 2010
Third party cannot file copy application subject to some exceptions.
Guest (Expert) 11 April 2010
NANDKUMAR B.SAWANT.M.COM.LL.B.(MUMBAI),ADVOCATE

MOBILE.9271971251
e.mail.adv.nbsawant@yahoo.co.in
e.mail.nandkumarbs@sify.com

REGARDING THE CERTIFIED COPY OF F.I.R. KINDLY NOTE THAT

1.YOU MAY SUBMIT AN APPLICATION FOR CERTIFIED COPIES TO THE COURT COPY SECTION BY AFFIXING RS.10 COURT FEE STAMP ON SAID APPLICATION FOR URGENT COPIES /ORDINARY COPIES.
2.KINDLY NOTE THAT PER PAGE RS.4/- FOR ORDINARY APPLICATION AND RS.7/- FOR URGENT APPLICATION IS COPYING CHARGES APPLICABLE AND PAYABLE IN COURT FOR GETING CERTIFIED COPIES PLEASE NOTE.YOU GET A RECEIPT FOR THE SAME.
3.WHICHEVER DOCUMENTS ARE PRODUCED AND FILED IN COURT ARE AVAILABLE FOR CERTIFIED COPIES.
4.KINDLY NOTE THAT IN CASE CHARGE SHEET IS NOT FILED THEN OTHER DOCUMENTS AND STATEMENTS OF WITNESSES CASE DIARY YOU MAY NOT GET COPY OF SAME AS INVESTIGATION IS IN PROGRESS TILL FILING OF CHARGESHEET.
5 ONCE CHARGE SHEET IS FILED IN COURT A COPY OF SAME IS GIVEN TO THE ACCUSED FREE OF COST, IN CASE CERTIFIED COPY OF SAME IS REQUIRED THEN ABOVE MENTIONED PROCEDURE FOR CERTIFIED COPY IS TO BE FOLLOWED.
YOU MAY WRITE AND SEND DETAILS IN CASE ANY FURTHER HELP IS REQUIRED
WITH BEST REGARDS TO YOU YOUR FAMILY AND FRIENDS.
THANKING YOU
YOURS SINCERELY
NANDKUMAR B.SAWANT.M.COM.LL.B.(MUMBAI),ADVOCATE
B.B.R.Goud. (Expert) 11 April 2010
thank you Mr Nandakumar... you have given clear and complete advice.... thank you very much....

i agree with my learned friends...
Querist : Anonymous (Querist) 12 April 2010
Dear Shri Nandakumar Savantaji,
I am very much thankful to you for your brief and clear advice towards the procedure for obtaining the certified copies from the court.
Further I shall be much obliged and thankful to you if you kindly guide me on the following point.
I am not a advocate nor the party to the proceedings.But I need it to produce to Insurance Company to support my Claims Investigation Reports in relation to the Insurance Claims.